2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 11 invisible), 1,910 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1981929 11/02/12 06:49 PM
E
EmilyM. Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hi there--

I'm very new to this piano buying process! I've been an almost life-long piano player and am decent, but not great by any stretch of the imagination. My 11 year old daughter shows much more potential than I ever did. I have 3 other piano playing kids as well.

So, with that said, I went to go check out grand pianos the other day for the first time ever. My sister recently bought an RX-2 and loves it, so I thought I would try the Kawai as well. It was a nice piano, much nicer than the one I'm used to playing. But, then the sales lady let me play a 6'0" Schimmel and I died and went to heaven...problem being a much heftier price tag. So, I'm trying to go the used route. While in my search, I came across a 2004 5'10" Vogel. Since I can't compare the Schimmel and Vogel side-by-side, I'm just wondering what you all think about the qualities of a Vogel. What do you think about buying the piano over the internet, where I haven't had a chance to play it myself? A piano tech that had recently tuned the piano told me it was beautiful and had a warm, clear tone, but that it needed regulating work. But, I still hear the sound of the Schimmel in my ears... So, should I hold out for a good used Schimmel or go for the Vogel?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content