2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (36251, Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 6 invisible), 1,094 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
OP Offline
S
Hi, I’m new to the form, but have spent several weeks checking it out. I have a question about the Casio PX850. I’m having some difficulty wrapping my head around the fact that the company that made nearly every electronic toy piano, watch, calculator, etc. I had growing up is making a viable and durable entry into the digital piano market. The 18-minute youtube review on it is very compelling. I’ve read/heard good things about the AP640 too.

My issue is this: With help from family I may be able to get to a $2000 - $2500 price point (otherwise I'm at $1200). My criteria are, in order: 1) realistic action, 2) realistic sound, 3) nice console/cabinet (defined as Yamaha CLP/Arius, Roland HP…), and 4) a strong and durable console (my wife and I are unlikely to have romance on it but we do have children and pets and aren’t the most gentle on things). #3 and 4 may be tied, actually.

I played the CLP series, the base model is just in my price range. I liked the 440 a little better, I think. I don’t like buying base models in product lineups, but that’s my issue. I kind liked the Arius 141, but thought it was overpriced and was limited in comparison to what other pianos offer.