2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, 12 invisible), 2,031 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
garson Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hi everyone,

I'm new to PianoWorld - hello! For the many years I have had a trusty Roland HP 1700 digital piano. It's been incredibly reliable and has a wonderful sound, but after an unfortunate recent spill, I think I may have wrecked part of the circuit board inside (the 10 keys directly below middle C now play at full volume all of the time). My question is two-fold:

1) Has anyone dealt with a spill situation like that and actually fixed it?
2) Did anyone here have the HP 1700 and replace it with something similar? And if so, what did you choose?

I know there are many questions asked here every day, but I would be so grateful for any advice!

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Most pianos have a membrane with rubber-dome buttons under each key. Each key presses a button (actually two or three buttons) to actuate the sound. The spill may have left residue under those rubber domes. The repair might be as simple as cleaning up the circuit board and the rubber membrane. This requires a bit of skill and patience.

S
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
S
+1 to Mac, sounds like a liquid, or residue, short circuit of the key contacts. I would not put power on it again, until it's dried out and you've opened it up and started cleaning all traces, including under the key contacts.

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member