2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Charles Cohen, Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, 20/20 Vision, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
U
OP Offline
U
First of all I'd like to thank everyone for making this forum so useful! Hope you can help me with this one:

Im just starting to play the piano, I consider myself an absolute beginner... Anyways, I've decided to buy a DP and get into it more seriously!
Which brings me to my enquiry.... I've been mainly looking at three alternatives:
- Kawai MP-6
- Korg SV-1
- Kawai ES-7

My focus is certainly to learn to play the PIANO so good action is important, however I would like to have the ability (soundwise) to play a few songs by The Doors or something like that, which is why I've been focusing on pianos that have good organ / electric piano sounds as well.
Now from what I've read, the SV-1 should be a really good option, however I've also been reading about soooo many problems with it that I'm not so sure to take the risk.
On the other hand the MP-6 seems a good alternative to the SV-1, and at basically the same price seems like a more solid build that would last a long time without any problems.

So please if you could advise for/against these or other DPs considering my needs, I would greatly appreciate it!!!

PS: is a teacher light years ahead of self-learning or e-learning??? should I give the old DIY a try or find a good teacher as soon as possible?? Im 27 by the way

Thanks in advance,

JOE