2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,882 guests, and 329 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 111 of 540 1 2 109 110 111 112 113 539 540
S
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
S
The good news: I was able to use the webcam on the laptop to record video of my playing. The bad news: watching back those videos, because the playing is so-so. It is useful feedback.

As a relatively new beginner, I still feel overwhelmed by all there is to try and learn. I remind myself to measure progress more in terms of time and effort, not necessarily results, and it often is two steps forward, one step back. I sometimes will try to isolate and focus on one small thing at a time such as one phrase or one transition that sounds awkward on the video.

I also remind myself to keep it fun, and if it is giving me a headache or other aches, to move to something else. I also remind myself, at least it ain't the flute, where at some times the embouchure fails completely and literally no sound comes out.

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Welcome back Farmgirl. I hope your life has settled down a little now. How is the puppy?

Sand Tiger, the first time I video'd my playing, I was aghast, but I learned a lot! It allowed me to recognize problems with my position, too low of a bench, etc. Hearing the playback I could hear little hesitations, over accented notes and other seemingly glaring problems. Of course, I think we are always over-critical of ourselves, but it is a great learning tool!