2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 11 invisible), 2,080 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
C
C
I live in the US (NY) and all the teachers I've had charged by the lesson. And believe me, my teachers have been serious teachers.
Charging my students this way is just easier, for me at least.

M
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
M
I've never met a teacher who charged by the lesson and I've been teaching for 30 years.

B.A., Piano, Piano Pegagogy, Music Ed.
M.M., Piano
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Minniemay
I've never met a teacher who charged by the lesson and I've been teaching for 30 years.

I've taken lessons (in Southern California) from teachers who charged by the lesson. They treat piano as a hobby for students, kind of like a coach for swimming or tennis. But I can't imagine doing that and still making a living.

Private Piano Teacher and MTAC Member
M
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
M
I'm referring to ongoing lessons with a student. I have paid for individual lessons for myself, but those are coaching sessions scheduled once in a blue moon.

B.A., Piano, Piano Pegagogy, Music Ed.
M.M., Piano
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Originally Posted by currawong
Originally Posted by Morodiene
It has been my experience that the teachers who take lesson payment one lesson at a time are usually less serious or appear to be less serious about their teaching as a business.