2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, antune, 11 invisible), 1,784 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
F
F
I'm not exactly sure why or how I got so interested in the piano. I never went for lessons as a kid, nor did I care for piano or classical music.

Somehow, Muse and Matt Bellamy had something to do with it? Hehe but I had developed some interest in my early twenties I guess. I played guitar self-taught for a while, and used to play drums and trumpet back in the school band days. Anyway, I had heard a few classical pieces (and others) which I really wanted to know how to play.

At university studying engineering, I had some crazy guitar kid who used to pull me in to the Music department's piano rooms to just mess around. I thought it was time to just start, so I walked into a shop and bought some Casio 61-key thingy for $100 or whatever. It was great, because I had the acoustic pianos in the music rooms to keep me grounded on what a real piano felt like (whenever I could sneak in), while I learned and practiced fingerings and built muscle memory on the plastic Casio. It worked for me.