2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, 5 invisible), 1,304 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Scout Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hi there, reading the pianoworld forums for the past 6 months has been very illuminating. Now I need your help, please.

I started studying classical piano at age 8, and in my 20s bought a new 5'9" Kawai grand, which I loved and played for 15 yrs before having to sell it. Then someone gave me a 1913 McPhail upright, which grew on me despite its idiosyncrasies. Now, older and with more time, I yearn for another grand, and my husband agrees I need to move on from the McPhail. Our budget is $10,000-$15,000 (tho $15K would be difficult).

Initially hoping for a lightly used Kawai grand, I'm surprised to find that I'm no longer drawn to them--even the new ones--they sound beautiful on other pianists' videos, but I haven't been feeling a connection or enjoyed playing them, nor several others I've been trying (e.g., Petrof, Baldwin, Young Chang, most Yamahas).