2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (danno858, AlkansBookcase, dbudde, eleos, David B, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 13 invisible), 1,825 guests, and 295 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2009950 01/06/13 12:30 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Hi.

I am looking for an used piano. Can anyone identify these two pianos posted on Craigslist? The brands are on the posts but I am wondering if anyone has used these pianos and has any thoughts/comments. I am a total newbie to pianos - so this may be a very strange question to answer.

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/msg/3525739390.html (Post says Baldwin)

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/msg/3525196260.html Wurlitzer;

Thanks.

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member

7000 Post Club Member
Hi Searching - Welcome to Piano World!

The first appears to be an Acrosonic spinet, built by Baldwin. It probably dates from the late 60's or 70's as it has the metal fallboard logo and not the applied decals. Ya can't argue with the price. Many will tell you to never get a spinet, but the Acros are about the one exception. It could be decent (or not).

Wurlitzer consoles are not as well built as the Baldwin line. They were an entry level piano from this era. If the piano is playable, it might be OK, but I would try to get the price down to ~$350 or less.

The common adage at PW is to always have a used piano inspected by a qualified technician, but in this price range, it is hard to justify the additional $100 or more. Do you play or have a friend who does?