2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, 13 invisible), 1,881 guests, and 256 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
I
Inca Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Hi, I'm a piano beginner and have been taking lessons for about a month. I have to practice at a keyboard at home but since I know that I will continue playing the piano I thought about getting myself a real instrument.
I may have about 1500 Dollars, maybe a bit more, which I can spend. I know that this is not a lot that's why I thought about buying myself an electric one or an used acoustic one, because a new one I couldn't afford. I've already checked some offers for used acoustic pianos in my neighborhood and there are plenty of offers for about that price. Since I'm not an expert I do not know whether these are good offers or not.

I will have to practice some year on that instrument so the question which one to get is pretty important. That's why I made a list of pros and cons for acoustic and for electric.

Electric:
+Cheaper
+Different tones (This isn't really important to me)
+Headphones
+No tuning necessary
-Not the original instrument
-Other quality of playing

Acoustic:
+The original instrument
+Should be the best way to learn how to play the piano properly
-I would have to buy a used one
-No headphones
-Yearly tuning necessary

Some other questions:
*How much should I spend to get a good electric / acoustic (used) one?
*What should I watch out for buying a used one?
*What are some brands you can recommend me?