2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 10 invisible), 1,828 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
deb8851 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi! This is my first post. I registered just so I could ask this questions: how do blind people memorize sheet music? I'm a fairly advanced self-taught piano student--I've memorized Schubert's Impromptu op. 142 no. 4, play a lot of Chopin, and I've composed several pieces. But memorizing is really difficult for me, and I think part of the reason may be that I have a neurological problem--I don't remember anything I see (faces, streets, you name it--I don't recognize my own children). So I'm looking for tips that might help my particular situation. Thanks!

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
By ear. Listening a lot to recordings and then imitating that sound on the piano. You may want to try memorizing as you are learning in your situation. Play a phrase in the music and then play it over and over again to memorize it, getting your eyes off the page as soon as possible. This may be the best route for you to take, and since you can read, that will help. Blind students usually have to have a great ear to imitate, and/or have the assistance of someone who can play each hand and each phrase for them out of context so they can learn it, then put it all together.

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
Just to add - bit by bit.

I find it difficult to memorize and I can recognize my children. smile