2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
MH1963 Offline OP
Silver Subscriber
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
Silver Subscriber
500 Post Club Member
M
I'm an adult student, restarted lessons about 8 months ago. I'd classify my talent level as pretty low, but I read music well and practice diligently.

All of my teachers have focused on classical music, which I really like. I play Fur Elise, a number of sonatinas from Kuhlau, Clementi, etc. I think I'd be considered 'early intermediate.'

I have zero ability to do any sort of improvisation, or play by chords, such as from a fake book. Although pop / blues are not my thing, I'd like to be able to play some simple stuff with my son and husband, who play guitar.

I really feel that my musical education is a bit lopsided and I'd like to remedy that but I'm not sure where to begin. Does any one have suggestions on how I might approach this? It sounds sort of crazy, but I feel hampered by reading music well. Without notes on a page, I'm lost.

Help!

MH1963

'63 Mason & Hamlin Model A

[Linked Image]
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Have you talked to your teacher about wanting to learn how to play from a fakebook?

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
M
MH1963 Offline OP
Silver Subscriber
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
Silver Subscriber
500 Post Club Member
M