2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, 16 invisible), 1,895 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
C
C
Yes, you can learn without a teacher but don't expect to go too far... I thank god my house wasn't build by a self taught architect smile

Only the OP can know if he needs a teacher. The need for a teacher has a lot to do with desired goals, and individual abilities, aptitude, and resourcefulness. If one desires to be an accomplished concert pianist, trying to go without a teacher might be an challenge. If one wants to play some pop/rock/dance/whatever, and really does not care if aspects of his playing are consistent with strict classical guidelines, then no, a teacher is not necessary to learn. Everyone has different needs. The OP should know in his heart if he needs a teacher or not.

My musical teachers were always the great composers of the music I am playing and the many artists performed it.

In the last 50 ys. you have the most valuable feedback previously not possible: records of own playing. With digital pianos it is even easier. I am far from being a professional player but am able to improve. I am 55, restarted for some 6 ys after a break of good 35 ys. Playing now ca. half of J.S.Bach's keyboard music (WTC, suites, etc.).

N
N