2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (Barly, 1957, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 13 invisible), 1,916 guests, and 358 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2012085 01/10/13 06:24 AM
Mr. Cid Offline OP
OP Offline
First a little about my experience. Have been playing for at least 6 months (self-taught.) I have learned my Aug, Sus, Maj7, min, Maj, and Diminished chords. I have just gotten into inversions and will eventually get into my scales more (learned my major and melodic minor scales and am learning my harmonic and pure minor scales.) I can read music, around level 2 to 3, reach up to a ninth comfortably, and am learning theory to help supplement my sight reading.

My first and foremost is rhythm and accuracy. When I read sheet my rhythm is often interrupted by my sense of accuracy (I would occasionally stop if I hit a wrong note.) I have read that it is better to just ignore it and keep going for the sake of rhythm. Which makes me wonder as a beginner pianist, would it be best to master rhythm first before accuracy for a better sight reading experience.

Does practicing with a slower tempo have the same results as the normal tempo of a score as long as I keep the rhythm?

What music books should I buy? I was thinking of buying Bach Chorales (keyboard version) for interval practice.

P.S. I definitely have tons of more questions but I feel like I should give y'all time to swallow these questions. Looking forward to the responses!

Just your average beginner that is passionate at what he loves! MUSIC AND INSTRUMENTS!
L
L