Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2017136 - 01/19/13 08:58 AM Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Hi,

My Kawai CA65 has arrived and I can not figure out how to layer two sounds assigned to the same group/button. Let's say Concert Grand and Mellow Grand.

I found this older post (see bellow), but it does not seem to work. May it works only on CA63/93? Please let me know if anybody found how to do this, since I am anxious to set up multiple presents designed by this forum members.

Thanks,

"To layer two sounds assigned to the same sound group, first press a SOUND SELECT button to select the initial sound, then press and hold the same SOUND SELECT button, and finally press the [up] or [down] buttons to select the desired layered sound"

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Kawai Superb Stage Piano and Controller

Click Here


#2017146 - 01/19/13 09:24 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Poiuy123,

First active 'Dual' mode by pressing two sound button simultaneously (e.g. PIANO1 and PIANO2). With 'Dual' mode active it should be possible to use the UP/DOWN buttons to alternate between the main and layered sound, then the LEFT/RIGHT buttons to cycle through the different instrument voices.

Kind regards,
James
x

ps. Congrats on your new piano!
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017175 - 01/19/13 10:38 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Kawai James]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Kawai James,

I have no problem to activate dual mode for the instruments assigned to a DIFFERENT buttons (i.e. Piano 1 and 2). The issue is to assign dual mode to the instruments under the SAME button (i.e. Concert Grand and Mellow Grand) so I can use presets developed by TADutchman were combination of instruments assigned to the SAME button are used most of the time.

I.E.:

BLENDED CONCERT GRANDEUR R2.0 - HEAVY TOUCH EDITION

Dual Voice: Concert Grand, volume 5 + Concert Grand 2, volume 5

1 Basic Settings
1 - 3 Tone control: low 4, mid 3, high 0

2 Virtual Technician
2 - 1 Voicing: normal
2 - 2 Damper resonance: 10
2 - 3 String resonance: 10
2 - 4 Key off effect: 9
2 - 5 Touch: heavy
2 - 8 Stretch tuning: Normal

3 Key Settings
3 - 4 Layer dynamics: 7

Reverb: Hall 1

Effect: Delay 2, time 2, depth 3

Top
#2017176 - 01/19/13 10:41 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
I understand.

May I ask what happens when you follow the steps I explained above?

James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017190 - 01/19/13 11:02 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Kawai James]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
If I follow steps described by you above, I can get into dual mode by selecting piano 1 and piano 2 buttons, mover up and down between the main and layering sound, and choose different sounds only WITHIN piano 1 category when left and right arrows pressed with cursor over main sound and only WITHIN piano 2 category when left and left and right arrows pressed with cursor over layering sound. Thus I can not see how I can select dual mode with Concert Grand and Concert Grand 2 for example (both belong to piano 1 button)

If I follow recommendation by TADutchmen - (see my initial post), - nothing happens when I press and then press and hold same button (piano 1 in this example).

It sounds to me that since upgrading of firmware on CA65 this option was lost. I wonder if there is a way to downgrade it, so this option would work. I bought this particular DP after long research, and one of the main reasons was that I can use and design user presents as described above. If I don't have this option, I'll have to consider switching to a different DP.

Is there any other way around?

Top
#2017191 - 01/19/13 11:06 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
TrumpetMan Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/10/13
Posts: 46
Loc: Essex, UK
I have the CA63, so not sure if this works, but I'll explain how I do this:

1. Select the first sound you want normally on Piano 1 key (e.g. Concert Grand, Studio Grand etc.). This will appear in the top position.

2. Press AND HOLD Piano 1 key.

3. Press either up or down key to add the second Piano 1 sound (it will appear underneath the first sound).

4. Whilst still holding Piano 1 key, use up/down to change the 2nd sound.

5. Let go of Piano 1 key

To change the 2nd layered sound, just hold Piano 1 key and use up/down as before.
To change 1st layered sound, I have to start right back at no.1.

Remember that you can only layer two sounds at once - some of TAD's presets look like they have more layers, but these are just options you can choose between.

Let me know if this helped,

TrumpetMan

Top
#2017196 - 01/19/13 11:15 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: TrumpetMan]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
TrumpetMan,

Unfortunately it seems CA65 works differently:

When I press and HOLD Piano 1 key and press up and down keys, the sound on the screen (and the LED light on the keys) moves to Piano 2, E.Piano, Organ etc, instead of showing different sounds from Piano 1 bank. If I use left and right keys while holding the piano 1 button, different sounds from within Piano 1 bank a shown, but it does not enter the dual mode frown

Top
#2017200 - 01/19/13 11:25 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
TrumpetMan Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/10/13
Posts: 46
Loc: Essex, UK
That's a shame.

I'm sure if anyone can help you it's Kawai James - maybe he will spell out the steps even clearer . . .

Good luck!

Top
#2017216 - 01/19/13 11:49 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: TrumpetMan]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Kawai James,

Help!

Top
#2017217 - 01/19/13 11:52 AM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
TrumpetMan Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/10/13
Posts: 46
Loc: Essex, UK
He's in Japan - it's 1.52a.m. - Let the poor guy sleep!!

Use the time to practise something nice smile


Edited by TrumpetMan (01/19/13 11:54 AM)

Top
#2017234 - 01/19/13 12:23 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: TrumpetMan]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Oops, sorry, did not realize that smile

Top
#2017448 - 01/19/13 06:14 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
chickenlump Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/13/12
Posts: 54
Loc: Canada
I'm assuming you tried this - but just to make sure:

Even though you press two separate sound buttons, when you scroll through the second layered sound, it shouldn't be limited to the sound banks of the second button. You should be able to scroll all the way to sounds of any of the other buttons.

That's how it is with my CA95, and I'm assuming the firmware should be similar with the 65?

Top
#2017458 - 01/19/13 06:36 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
chickenlump, yes, I believe that's how it should be.

Let me clarify this point with the CA95/CA65 product leader on Monday.

Cheers,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017504 - 01/19/13 08:09 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Kawai James]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Yes, chickenlump, I tried this.

Even though I press two separate sound buttons, when I scroll through the second layered sound, it is limited to the sound banks of the second button.

There is no firmware update for ca65 that I could find. Where can I download current firmware? May be reinstalling it will solve the problem?

Thank you,


Edited by Poiuy123 (01/19/13 08:10 PM)

Top
#2017506 - 01/19/13 08:13 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Poiuy123, to date there have been no firmware updates for the CA95/CA65.

Kind regards,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017510 - 01/19/13 08:16 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
Would you mind, please, to provide me with download link of the current firmware so I can reinstall it?

Top
#2017523 - 01/19/13 08:44 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Poiuy123, I do not believe this would help. There is only one version of the CA95/CA65 firmware currently available, and that's already loaded onto your piano.

Kind regards,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017524 - 01/19/13 08:45 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Poiuy123 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/18/13
Posts: 9
OK everybody, I think I found the solution.

I assumed from reading around that every time you switch DP on and off it resets itself, tried factory restore setting and everything else I could think of.

At the end I just disconnected DP from the wall for a few minutes, reconnected it back and voila ! It is working like it should.

Thank you very much for you help and support.

Best,


Edited by Poiuy123 (01/19/13 08:45 PM)

Top
#2017526 - 01/19/13 08:49 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9084
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
I'm not entirely sure why disconnecting the instrument's power cable would change the 'Dual' mode behaviour, however I'm gad to hear that everything is now working as it should.

Kind regards,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2017532 - 01/19/13 09:16 PM Re: Two layer sounds assigned to the same sound group [Re: Poiuy123]
TrumpetMan Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/10/13
Posts: 46
Loc: Essex, UK
Glad you got it sorted.

As they say, "If in doubt, switch it off and on again" smile

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Seiler Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
108 registered (AlanSanDiego, anotherscott, Aviram, accordeur, 36 invisible), 1348 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76042 Members
42 Forums
157224 Topics
2309197 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Blac
by Aviram
Yesterday at 11:56 PM
Blackbird - Piano Cover - The Beatles
by Aviram
Yesterday at 11:49 PM
Kawai CA95 Recordings
by wolferblade
Yesterday at 11:32 PM
soviet upright piano "LIRICS"
by Maximillyan
Yesterday at 11:22 PM
Question about 1975 Steinway L
by mahlers2nd
Yesterday at 09:02 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission