2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,307 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
90abyss Offline OP
OP Offline
I am just a beginner so this question may seem silly.

When you play a D7 chord (F#-C-D) say on a base clef, then do I need to play F# instead of an F every time I encounter an F until the natural sign appears?
Or does this "once sharped, always sharped" rule applies only when you play a single note and not the whole chord?

J
Gold Level
6000 Post Club Member
Gold Level
6000 Post Club Member
J
If the chord is "written out" in notes on the staff the sharp only applies to the particular measure it's in, and goes back to being natural in the next measure with or without a natural sign. If there *is* a natural sign in the next measure on an F it's called a "courtesy" natural - just a friendly reminder that it's now Fnat. But it would be Fnat anyway.

If you're playing a D7 from a chord chart for a lead sheet it doesn't effect anything except that particular chord, although I suppose it's not likely to have an Fnat in the melody line at the same time.

Cathy

Cathy
[Linked Image][Linked Image]
Perhaps "more music" is always the answer, no matter what the question might be! - Qwerty53
B

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by 90abyss