Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician
SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
Ad (Piano Sing)
How to Make Your Piano Sing
Who's Online
115 registered (anamnesis, ABC Vermonter, 36251, Anita Potter, AZNpiano, accordeur, 38 invisible), 1420 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Topic Options
#2028465 - 02/07/13 12:13 AM Help with Sibelius First Software
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Hi. I'm trying to get the demo copy of Sibelius First notation software working. I need some help getting it installed, but it looks like you need to BUY the software before getting any help. Does anyone know where I can get some support? A non-Sibelius forum perhaps?

Thanks,

Dan.

p.s. The problem is that it installed and runs OK, and I can record MIDI music from my DP. However, it won't play back MIDI music through my DP - no sound.

I'm evaluating two other software packages and they play back to my DP just fine.

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Yamaha Keyboards for Performance and Composition

Click Here


#2028471 - 02/07/13 12:23 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9691
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Dan, I'm not familiar with Sibelius, however I expect there is a settings window somewhere that allows the MIDI IN and OUT devices to be specified. You may need to check that they're both set to use your DP.

Cheers,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2028479 - 02/07/13 12:38 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Kawai James]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Dan, I'm not familiar with Sibelius, however I expect there is a settings window somewhere that allows the MIDI IN and OUT devices to be specified. You may need to check that they're both set to use your DP.

Cheers,
James
x

James,

That was my first thought, but I can't find any settings I've missed. The other two software packages I'm testing (Finale PrintMusic and MagicScore Maestro 7) were easy to set up and work fine.

Thanks anyway.

Dan.

Top
#2028480 - 02/07/13 12:45 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Kawai James Online   content
9000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 9691
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Maybe it uses the Windows MIDI settings?

I recall newer versions of Windows have removed the MIDI IN/OUT selection applet, however this can be restored with a freeware tool, such as:

http://software.bootblock.co.uk/?id=vistamidipicker

Cheers,
James
x

_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2028482 - 02/07/13 12:48 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Kawai James]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Maybe it uses the Windows MIDI settings?

I recall newer versions of Windows have removed the MIDI IN/OUT selection applet, however this can be restored with a freeware tool, such as:

http://software.bootblock.co.uk/?id=vistamidipicker

Cheers,
James
x


James,

I'll give that a try.

Thanks,

Dan.

Top
#2028688 - 02/07/13 11:25 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
After messing with the software for a while, I finally found a device configuration page for playback, which is SEPARATE from the input page. That's a bit strange, but whatever...

That page lists available and activated devices. My Casio device was listed as available, but it was grayed out and could not be activated.

The documentation was NO help. It blathered on and on about the wonders of the product but provided NO assistance with resolving problems. So...

Sibelius First will not play back through a DP (at least mine),
Provides no information about resolving the problem, and
There is no way to contact them for help unless you buy the product.

At this point, I suspect that Sibelius First has no support for playing back through a DP - a major limitation. While it looks like it has some nice features, in it's current version it's not usable with a DP.

Dan.


Edited by Dan Clark (02/07/13 11:26 AM)

Top
#2028790 - 02/07/13 02:01 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
dannac Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 10/04/07
Posts: 601
Loc: USA
@Dan

I have Sibelius 6 and it plays through my DP.
You most likely found this already, but it looks for USB device under : File - Preferences - Input Device.

Here's some others you may want to look at :

Midi Illustrator
Notation Composer
MuseScore (free)

Top
#2028862 - 02/07/13 04:44 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/14/12
Posts: 233
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Top
#2028865 - 02/07/13 04:50 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: dannac]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: dannac
@Dan

I have Sibelius 6 and it plays through my DP.
You most likely found this already, but it looks for USB device under : File - Preferences - Input Device.

Here's some others you may want to look at :

Midi Illustrator
Notation Composer
MuseScore (free)

Dana,

Thanks. The input works fine. Unfortunately the playback is the issue.

Regards,

Dan.

Top
#2028868 - 02/07/13 04:51 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: slowtraveler]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Ben,

Thanks. I'll give this a try and let you know.

Regards,

Dan.

Top
#2029036 - 02/07/13 10:44 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Dan Clark
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Ben,

Thanks. I'll give this a try and let you know.

Regards,

Dan.

Ben,

It worked! I'm floored, but happy! That said...

Making the disabling the default playback configuration is one of dumbest marketing decisions I've seen in many years. Given that the company provides NO documentation on this and has a firewall to keep prospective customers from any kind of support, I'm 100% sure that many customers tried it and tossed it as "broken". I.e. they've lost a lot of customers because of this.

And why do I know this? Because I gave it up as a lost cause and deinstalled the software last night. If it had not been for your INCREDIBLY ACCURATE post, I would not have reinstalled and tried your solution!

Ben, thank you very much for your help! Now I have a good candidate to compare the software against its competitors.

Best regards,

Dan.

Top
#2029057 - 02/07/13 11:31 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/14/12
Posts: 233
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
Glad it worked!

Apparently, it's a case of vendor brain damage: trying to keep the user from inadvertently hosing the config files, but instead creating completely unnecessary aggravation and confusion.

To be fair, the documentation does make a passing mention of this issue (it's buried on page 505 of the colossal 780-page Sibelius reference manual), but the information is not exactly easy to find.

And it's totally bogus that Avid keeps you from accessing the user forums unless you are already a registered Sibelius owner.

I have dealt with Avid many times in the past. Regrettably, they do this kind of thing pretty often. OTOH, the software is actually pretty great.

Regards,

Ben

Top
#2029058 - 02/07/13 11:38 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: slowtraveler]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 175
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Glad it worked!

Apparently, it's a case of vendor brain damage: trying to keep the user from inadvertently hosing the config files, but instead creating completely unnecessary aggravation and confusion.

To be fair, the documentation does make a passing mention of this issue (it's buried on page 505 of the colossal 780-page Sibelius reference manual), but the information is not exactly easy to find.

And it's totally bogus that Avid keeps you from accessing the user forums unless you are already a registered Sibelius owner.

I have dealt with Avid many times in the past. Regrettably, they do this kind of thing pretty often. OTOH, the software is actually pretty great.

Regards,

Ben


Ben,

My bad! I only got up to page 504 of the docs! Not.

To be fair... I'm a software developer. Sometimes software developers go to amazing lengths to make the software "safe". Sometimes too safe. And writing and maintaining technical documentation is very difficult. Not something we like to do. As a software developer, I understand the issue intellectually.

As a potential customer... Grrrr!

Again, many thanks!

Dan.


Edited by Dan Clark (02/07/13 11:39 PM)

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
Christmas Header
Christmas Lights at Piano World Headquarters in Maine 2014
-------------------
The December Free Piano Newsletter
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) Yamaha CP Music Rest Promo
Yamaha CP Music Rest Promo
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Knabe Pianos
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Sheet Music Plus (125)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
New Topics - Multiple Forums
How to learn everything and anything about piano?
by MrMusicianship
12/22/14 07:22 PM
is my piano tunable
by d3c0
12/22/14 05:45 PM
SSHD running VST
by daz100
12/22/14 05:01 PM
do you recommend further service?
by ShannonG
12/22/14 04:34 PM
Is this now real enough?
by Philip_Johnston
12/22/14 04:21 PM
Forum Stats
77398 Members
42 Forums
160067 Topics
2350637 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
Gift Ideas for Music Lovers!
Find the Perfect Gift for the Music Lovers on your List!
Visit our online store today.

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission