Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2028465 - 02/07/13 12:13 AM Help with Sibelius First Software
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Hi. I'm trying to get the demo copy of Sibelius First notation software working. I need some help getting it installed, but it looks like you need to BUY the software before getting any help. Does anyone know where I can get some support? A non-Sibelius forum perhaps?

Thanks,

Dan.

p.s. The problem is that it installed and runs OK, and I can record MIDI music from my DP. However, it won't play back MIDI music through my DP - no sound.

I'm evaluating two other software packages and they play back to my DP just fine.

Top
(ad) Roland

Click Here

#2028471 - 02/07/13 12:23 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8393
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Dan, I'm not familiar with Sibelius, however I expect there is a settings window somewhere that allows the MIDI IN and OUT devices to be specified. You may need to check that they're both set to use your DP.

Cheers,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2028479 - 02/07/13 12:38 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Kawai James]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Dan, I'm not familiar with Sibelius, however I expect there is a settings window somewhere that allows the MIDI IN and OUT devices to be specified. You may need to check that they're both set to use your DP.

Cheers,
James
x

James,

That was my first thought, but I can't find any settings I've missed. The other two software packages I'm testing (Finale PrintMusic and MagicScore Maestro 7) were easy to set up and work fine.

Thanks anyway.

Dan.

Top
#2028480 - 02/07/13 12:45 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8393
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Maybe it uses the Windows MIDI settings?

I recall newer versions of Windows have removed the MIDI IN/OUT selection applet, however this can be restored with a freeware tool, such as:

http://software.bootblock.co.uk/?id=vistamidipicker

Cheers,
James
x

_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2028482 - 02/07/13 12:48 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Kawai James]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Maybe it uses the Windows MIDI settings?

I recall newer versions of Windows have removed the MIDI IN/OUT selection applet, however this can be restored with a freeware tool, such as:

http://software.bootblock.co.uk/?id=vistamidipicker

Cheers,
James
x


James,

I'll give that a try.

Thanks,

Dan.

Top
#2028688 - 02/07/13 11:25 AM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
After messing with the software for a while, I finally found a device configuration page for playback, which is SEPARATE from the input page. That's a bit strange, but whatever...

That page lists available and activated devices. My Casio device was listed as available, but it was grayed out and could not be activated.

The documentation was NO help. It blathered on and on about the wonders of the product but provided NO assistance with resolving problems. So...

Sibelius First will not play back through a DP (at least mine),
Provides no information about resolving the problem, and
There is no way to contact them for help unless you buy the product.

At this point, I suspect that Sibelius First has no support for playing back through a DP - a major limitation. While it looks like it has some nice features, in it's current version it's not usable with a DP.

Dan.


Edited by Dan Clark (02/07/13 11:26 AM)

Top
#2028790 - 02/07/13 02:01 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
dannac Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 10/04/07
Posts: 595
Loc: USA
@Dan

I have Sibelius 6 and it plays through my DP.
You most likely found this already, but it looks for USB device under : File - Preferences - Input Device.

Here's some others you may want to look at :

Midi Illustrator
Notation Composer
MuseScore (free)

Top
#2028862 - 02/07/13 04:44 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/14/12
Posts: 161
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Top
#2028865 - 02/07/13 04:50 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: dannac]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: dannac
@Dan

I have Sibelius 6 and it plays through my DP.
You most likely found this already, but it looks for USB device under : File - Preferences - Input Device.

Here's some others you may want to look at :

Midi Illustrator
Notation Composer
MuseScore (free)

Dana,

Thanks. The input works fine. Unfortunately the playback is the issue.

Regards,

Dan.

Top
#2028868 - 02/07/13 04:51 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: slowtraveler]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Ben,

Thanks. I'll give this a try and let you know.

Regards,

Dan.

Top
#2029036 - 02/07/13 10:44 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Dan Clark
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Dan,

I'm by no means a Sibelius expert, but I do own a copy of First 6.2. I ran a quick search through the Sibelius user forums and found a suggestion that Avid for some reason ships Sibelius First with the default playback configuration locked down.

Try creating a new Playback configuration by clicking the New button on the Playback Devices pop-up menu (assuming 7 works the same way as 6).

I believe you may be able to add your DP as a MIDI device for playback in that new configuration.

Kind regards,

Ben

Ben,

Thanks. I'll give this a try and let you know.

Regards,

Dan.

Ben,

It worked! I'm floored, but happy! That said...

Making the disabling the default playback configuration is one of dumbest marketing decisions I've seen in many years. Given that the company provides NO documentation on this and has a firewall to keep prospective customers from any kind of support, I'm 100% sure that many customers tried it and tossed it as "broken". I.e. they've lost a lot of customers because of this.

And why do I know this? Because I gave it up as a lost cause and deinstalled the software last night. If it had not been for your INCREDIBLY ACCURATE post, I would not have reinstalled and tried your solution!

Ben, thank you very much for your help! Now I have a good candidate to compare the software against its competitors.

Best regards,

Dan.

Top
#2029057 - 02/07/13 11:31 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: Dan Clark]
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/14/12
Posts: 161
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
Glad it worked!

Apparently, it's a case of vendor brain damage: trying to keep the user from inadvertently hosing the config files, but instead creating completely unnecessary aggravation and confusion.

To be fair, the documentation does make a passing mention of this issue (it's buried on page 505 of the colossal 780-page Sibelius reference manual), but the information is not exactly easy to find.

And it's totally bogus that Avid keeps you from accessing the user forums unless you are already a registered Sibelius owner.

I have dealt with Avid many times in the past. Regrettably, they do this kind of thing pretty often. OTOH, the software is actually pretty great.

Regards,

Ben

Top
#2029058 - 02/07/13 11:38 PM Re: Help with Sibelius First Software [Re: slowtraveler]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 174
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: slowtraveler
Glad it worked!

Apparently, it's a case of vendor brain damage: trying to keep the user from inadvertently hosing the config files, but instead creating completely unnecessary aggravation and confusion.

To be fair, the documentation does make a passing mention of this issue (it's buried on page 505 of the colossal 780-page Sibelius reference manual), but the information is not exactly easy to find.

And it's totally bogus that Avid keeps you from accessing the user forums unless you are already a registered Sibelius owner.

I have dealt with Avid many times in the past. Regrettably, they do this kind of thing pretty often. OTOH, the software is actually pretty great.

Regards,

Ben


Ben,

My bad! I only got up to page 504 of the docs! Not.

To be fair... I'm a software developer. Sometimes software developers go to amazing lengths to make the software "safe". Sometimes too safe. And writing and maintaining technical documentation is very difficult. Not something we like to do. As a software developer, I understand the issue intellectually.

As a potential customer... Grrrr!

Again, many thanks!

Dan.


Edited by Dan Clark (02/07/13 11:39 PM)

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Download & Print Sheet Music Instantly
sheet music search
sheet music search

sheet music search
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
133 registered (Atrys, accordeur, anotherscott, A Guy, Andrej Gabara, 47 invisible), 1426 Guests and 36 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
74250 Members
42 Forums
153592 Topics
2251042 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Casio PX 850
by ryand90
Today at 07:41 PM
Am I Too Old?
by HatemTarek22
Today at 07:34 PM
New 52" upright with 10K budget?
by WCSdancer
Today at 07:26 PM
give up on old acoustics and buy a digital?
by carojm36
Today at 06:41 PM
I think I have a problem
by JoelW
Today at 05:02 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission