Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
Who's Online
135 registered (ajames, accordeur, 36251, Adypiano, ando, 32 invisible), 1725 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2028477 - 02/07/13 12:31 AM Bad echo with PreSonus AudioBox
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 187
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
I bought a PreSonus Audiobox 44VSL. Overall I like it, but when an analog or MIDI signal is routed through it, the sound in my BeyerDynamic 770 Pro headphones has a bad echo. Any ideas what might be causing the echo?

Thanks,

Dan.

Top
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2028944 - 02/07/13 07:08 PM Re: Bad echo with PreSonus AudioBox [Re: Dan Clark]
Bane Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/03/12
Posts: 91
Loc: USA
Latency?
_________________________
www.soundcloud.com/btrailblazer

Cable-Nelson upright piano, Casio WK-200, Mackie MR5MK2 monitors, Cubase Artist 7, Steinberg's The Grand 3, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 interface, Asus R500a-RS52 Windows 8, i5-3230M 2.6 gHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB HD (5400RPM)

Top
#2029073 - 02/08/13 12:06 AM Re: Bad echo with PreSonus AudioBox [Re: Bane]
Dan Clark Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/27/12
Posts: 187
Loc: Bellevue, WA USA
Originally Posted By: Bane
Latency?

Blake,

It might be latency, but I thought latency was a delay between hitting a key and hearing a sound. I don't notice any delay.

Also, my laptop uses an Intel Core i5 CPU. OS is Win7/64 with 8GB of memory. The disk is a 7200 rpm disk - fairly fast for a laptop. I would be surprised if the issue was latency. (If I was running something like Ivory Keys, latency could easily be an issue.)

Thanks for the suggestion, though.

Regards,

Dan.

Top
#2029078 - 02/08/13 12:15 AM Re: Bad echo with PreSonus AudioBox [Re: Dan Clark]
Stevesie Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/23/12
Posts: 45
Try different settings on the input monitoring and/ stereo mix monitoring. Ie enabling or disabling monitoring. Sorry I can't be more specific!

Top
(ad) SWEETWATER
Kawai Superb Stage Piano and Controller
#2029082 - 02/08/13 12:21 AM Re: Bad echo with PreSonus AudioBox [Re: Dan Clark]
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/14/12
Posts: 273
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
Originally Posted By: Dan Clark
I bought a PreSonus Audiobox 44VSL. Overall I like it, but when an analog or MIDI signal is routed through it, the sound in my BeyerDynamic 770 Pro headphones has a bad echo. Any ideas what might be causing the echo?

Thanks,

Dan.


Dan,

Sounds like you might be hearing both direct sound from the audio inputs and the same sound returned from your DAW but delayed by the total amount of system latency (A/D/A plus processing delay). Maybe check the front panel of your 44VSL to make sure the Mixer knob is in full CCW position when monitoring audio inputs directly?

Regards,

Ben

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
(ad 125) Sweetwater $4700 Giveaway
Sweetwater Giveaway
(ad) Yamaha CP Stage Pianos
Yamaha CP Stage Pianos - Learn More
(ad) Summer Keys
Summer Keys, a Music Adventure in Lubec, Maine
(ads) PD - WNG - MH
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tours
Ad (the Piano Store)
the Piano Store - Restored Steinway Pianos
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
New Topics - Multiple Forums
SEEKING ADVICE FOR BEGINNER DIGITAL PIANO
by xUnicorn
02/08/16 01:29 PM
Kawai MP11 Sound Routing Question
by Polkahero
02/08/16 12:40 PM
Music videos for contemporary music?
by detomastah
02/08/16 09:01 AM
Galaxy 2 Sample Library ???
by musicmad
02/08/16 08:30 AM
Low notes, high volume
by martijn
02/08/16 05:28 AM
Forum Stats
82,514 Registered Members
44 Forums
170,342 Topics
2,493,310 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2016 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission