2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2024152 01/30/13 05:39 PM
M
OP Offline
M
I'm new to this site, although I've been using this website to do research for almost a year, now. I have also been searching for a piano to purchase for about 6 months (and saving in the meantime). I play the piano casually - I started learning when I was 8, but I am definitely not an aficionado. Still, I know what I like as far as touch and sound. My 3 kids and wife are all taking lessons. We are playing on an ancient, out of tune piano and I want to upgrade. Over the past year, I have kept my eye on Craigslist and stopped in at every place that sells new and used pianos that I know about. I have narrowed it down to two options that I'm trying to decide between:

1) Kawai K3
2) Hailun HU-5P

I played the Kawai first and fell in love. It just sang to my ears and I loved the smooth action. It was brighter than the Boston and Essex (they sounded muddy to my ears), but it wasn't too bright like some of the Yamaha's I played. It seemed perfect to me.

Then I went and played the Hailun. First I played the HU-1P and I really liked it. It seemed extremely similar to the K3 in my unprofessional opinion, although it had been a week since I had played the Kawai. What's more, it's almost $1500 less than the Kawai.