2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, Calavera, 10 invisible), 1,197 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
OP Offline
L
I am posting this for a friend whose child has just started taking piano lessons. For various reasons (mainly space and climate control issues) my friend has determined that a digital piano will meet her needs better than an acoustic. I am an experienced pianist, but always with acoustic -- I have never (until yesterday) played a digital piano. So while I am trying to help her with her search, I am feeling a little over my head.

Her budget is very limited (looking to spend under $500). I told her at the very least that she needs a full 88 key keyboard and a sustain pedal, and a touch and feel that is as close to the action of an acoustic so that her daughter develops the right "touch" as she learns. I've been assuming, perhaps improperly, that we need "weighted keys" in order to get that acoustic-piano touch, but I am not actually sure what weighted keys really means exactly.

We've been looking on craigslist and yesterday took a drive to see an older Korg with weighted keys that looked promising from the ad and from the online info I found. But when I played the piano, there was a very mechanical "clunking" feeling and sound to the keyboard - when I played quietly, the clunking sound of the keys being pressed was louder than the music. I found it to be horribly distracting and ruled the piano out because of it.