2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
21 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 5 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Unobtanium Supporter until Jun 020 2020
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline

3000 Post Club Member
Before I started studying piano, I was worried that I'd never be able to memorize piano pieces. Now, after a bit more than a year of serious study, I find I have the opposite problem -- I rely almost entirely on memory (I find I'm really good at memorizing music, much to my amazement), and I feel as though I'm not developing any skills at reading printed music.

When I practice, I practice almost entirely from memory. When I do my lessons, I'm playing almost entirely from memory. On the rare occasions when I play for others, I do it almost entirely from memory. I go days without looking at sheet music, and when I do, I can't read it very well.

My teacher -- who is great, and who has really helped me develop some technique and musicality -- does not see this as much of a problem at this stage, though I have raised it with her several times. It may not bother her, but it bothers me a lot.

Have any of you had this problem? If so, do you have any suggestions on how to start focusing on the printed music again and developing more reading skills and real-playing-time connection with the printed scores?

I'd be grateful for any helpful suggestions!

[Linked Image]

"Don't let the devil fool you -
Here comes a dove;
Nothing cures like time and love."

-- Laura Nyro