2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, 4 invisible), 1,281 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2030854 02/11/13 12:51 AM
M
Mizcef Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hey!
I'm new to playing piano, have only been playing for a couple of months, I struggle to keep in time when playing. Can anyone offer some advice?

S
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
S
Counting and clapping are what many beginners start with. Many start by counting or clapping without touching the piano. A person can do this with the sheet music, or to a recording (YouTube has a ton of recordings). Some count while they are playing, some tap their left foot, saving the right for the pedal.

Many slow the tempo way down, so they can play accurately. Only when there is a high level of accuracy, do they pick up the tempo. Slowing way down is probably the most valuable learning tip I have gotten directly from the forum.

The metronome can also be a useful tool. There are old school mechanical metronomes as well as apps for phone or tablets, and software for computers. Some prefer a blinking light without sound. Some prefer a drum sound so it feels more like music.

I tend to need to hear a tune to pick out the timing and phrasing.

M
Mizcef Offline OP
OP Offline
M