2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (Bellyman, Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, CharlesXX, Animisha, bobrunyan, 13 invisible), 1,985 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
P.M. Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I am a piano teacher who lives in a predominantly Chinese community and teach mostly Chinese children since they live close by. Most of them speak English. However, recently I got a student who is four, and has only been in this country for several months and speaks limited English. The parents really wanted her to take lessons and so I took her on. She is getting better at the English (she also attends pre-school which helps) as well as the practicing. Her father translates whatever she cannot understand, though over time, I require his help less and less. I have her play for me for 15 of the 30 minute lesson that I give. The other time is spent on other activities such as singing, keeping the beat to a song, recognizing high versus low or same versus different melody.

My question is this.....what are some other good musical activities to do with children that young who speak very little English? Or even with language-challenged students in general?

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Remember that she really doesn't have native adult language competence, so go ahead and speak English to her, and make sure you have enough non-linguistic context (visual, tactile, auditory) to support the meaning.

Learner
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T