2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,184 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
OP Offline
G
I have been teaching a teenage piano student for about 3 months. She took piano lessons for about 6 years when she was young (ages 6 to 12) and then quit for several years. Before starting lessons with me, she played sporadically and focused only on songs she really enjoyed (popular/movie/new age music). This wouldn't normally be a problem, but she was trying to tackle late intermediate material as an early intermediate player. I have tried to get her to go back to the basics by having her work through the material in the adult piano adventures book 2, but she doesn't seem to be interested in practicing "boring" songs. I gave her some easy piano arrangements, but after several weeks she still wasn't able to play them well. I even tried to teach her to play chord-style piano, with the same results. I think part of the problem lies with the piano lessons she took in the past. I assumed (incorrectly, it seems) that with 6 years of lessons she would be much further along than she actually is. I admire her desire to learn to play the piano for her own enjoyment and don't want to see her quit, but I'm not sure how to convince her that she needs to first learn the fundamentals of music by playing simpler pieces before moving on to more challenging (and more satisfying) songs. She is graduating high school this year and is planning to go to an out-of-state college, so I pro