2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (20/20 Vision, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 12 invisible), 1,994 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2039489 02/26/13 10:11 AM
S
OP Offline
S
Lately I sometimes encounter 'black outs' when I play certain pieces I have been playing since a couple of months.
I'm a bad sight reader, but memorize quite fast. So after a while I can play the pieces by memory. After some more time, I don't need to think about it anymore, it's in my muscle memory.But then I seem to run into these black-outs.
Any suggestions or similar experiences ?
It's depressing that pieces that I could play almost without errors suddenly disintegrate! cry
( to get an idea of my beginner-status: I started 5 months ago and can play Bach menuetts 114-115, Musette, Burgmullers Arabesque and Tarantelle, Scarlatti K32 L423 and working on Moonlight sonata and Marche funèbre )

Kawai CA65
A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
Quite simple: You cannot rely on so-called muscle memory. You have to put the hard work in to understand, analyze and deeply memorize the piece. For instance, you should be able to play each hand separately. You should be able to start / stop from multiple points during the piece (ideally anywhere.)

Much easier said than done. I don't believe I've fully memorized a piece I've learnt yet, but I have got further than just muscle memory.

• Debussy - Le Petit Nègre, L. 114
  • Haydn - Sonata in Gm, Hob. XVI/44

Kawai K3
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
Z
4000 Post Club Member