2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 4 invisible), 1,182 guests, and 269 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
Okay I work as an independent contractor for studio and we have had a few snow days that I have not been paid for in my monthly check. however, when I looked at the studio policy, they do not reimburse the students for snow days. So I thought I should be paid for them otherwise, the studio is basically taking the money for my students, correct? I brought this up to the owner (we are the only two who teach in his studio) so it was a little awkward. Anyway he told me that they can make the lessons up at the end of the school year and at that point he would pay me for them. So, lots of times I know that the students do not make the lessons up, they forget about it and school is out and they take the summer off. In which case, I won't get paid and he keeps the money for my students for the snow days. It seems unfair to me. Anyone else work as an I.C. and had this situation? I mean I realize it is his studio and he does the advertising, and he lets me teach there, but they are my students. Am I being unreasonable for feeling cheated?

Last edited by pianogirl1978; 03/09/13 01:17 PM.

Private Piano Teacher in Lincoln, Nebraska
T
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
T
If you don't have a contract, your employer can probably interpret it however he wants. That's not cheating, but it isn't to your benefit.