2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
I want to be a piano (and bass) teacher. I graduated with a degree in music in 2010, have a lot of work experience motivating clients of all ages in the helping professions, but I feel like I am at a roadblock. There are these teach-at-students-home opportunities that all require teaching experience. I am not at all thrilled with being a traveling teacher either. My community has strict ordinances for in-home businesses, so I would have to limit students at home.

I studied with a piano teacher last year for awhile. She got me interested in Certificate of Merit for Level 8, but, after awhile I got really turned off by her teaching approach. She complained that her adult students never stayed. She used phrases like 'hamburger hands' and made negative comments. I understand why they left! But that gives you an idea of my playing level. I had 5 years of classical piano lessons as a child, one year of university piano in my 20s, and a solid history of rock keyboard. a lot of gigs on keyboards and bass in many genres. years playing in an orchestra, etc. My instrument for my degree was upright/double bass and two semesters of jazz piano. I did great academically, but the traditional music education track for teaching in school did not appeal to me. I learned nothing about teaching at the university.