2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 1,931 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 173 of 452 1 2 171 172 173 174 175 451 452
C
C
I'm curious if I should get the all-in-one books or the basic adult piano book. I played saxophone in highschool so I'm not sure how much of the theory I really need. I'm self-taught on piano without a book and I can play really easy piano pieces already but I'd like to learn to play intermediate pieces so I think I should get the book.

That's a good question. I played a woodwind instrument in high school, and I agree that most of the theory you will already know. When I first started the piano back in December, I had a bit of a time wrapping my head around chords. (After all, I use to only play one note at a time or sang one note at a time.) It didn't take much to get that basic understanding though.

The book taught me about chords, chord inversions and progressions. It also taught what harmonic and melodic intervals are. None of that is hard stuff, but stuff I had to learn as I hadn't learned that from playing in band.

Does the basic piano book teach that stuff? (I'm guessing it does.)

Sorry I can't answer your question. Are you going to start with book #1?

Originally Posted by cunparis