2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 13 invisible), 2,113 guests, and 323 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
AmandaJ Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi everyone. I did search, but couldn't find this topic. Hopefully it hasn't been asked too much.
I want to take some lessons. I'm 30 I started playing in early teens and then around 7 years ago I had to leave my piano behind. So I got a new one 1.5 years ago. (well new old ha)

So I want to take lessons again. No idea what "level" I'm at, but I'd like to take the royal conservatory exams and get better.

What are some qualifying questions to ask of a piano teacher to try and find the right fit?

Is a lesson a week necessary or could once a month or once every other week work?

B

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member
B
Here's a recent thread on this topic I keep bookmarked because I liked the input the teachers here provided so much: http://www.pianoworld.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/2035389/1.html

Here's an active thread in the Adult Beginner's Forum (which I recommend checking out if you haven't already) with some insight on trying to go about it alone: https://www.pianoworld.com/forum/ubb...%20study%20without%20any%20t.html#UNREAD

M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
The thread Bobpickle already mentioned has a lot of good info.