Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2060708 - 04/07/13 10:15 AM Question about changing VST during live performance
enzo.sandrolini Online   content
Full Member

Registered: 11/11/09
Posts: 275
Loc: Europe - France
Hello
I have a DP (casio PX350) which I use for gigging
I sometimes uses it with some virtual pianos (like Pianoteq), but Then I have the problem of switching sound during a song:
For example, I would like to switch easily from PTQ sound to a violin sounds
I have tried some solution using VST hosts: in the same host, I add several instrument including the Pianoteq VST
Then, I can switch from one instrument to another, but by using the mouse...not a good solution during a performance

Is there a solution using pedals ? or others tools
As VST host, I have no experience, so I made my tests only with GarageBand
do I have to use another VST host ?

Thanks for your help

Cheers
_________________________
Music is a lifestyle

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Your Next Keyboard is at Sweetwater

Click Here


#2060716 - 04/07/13 10:48 AM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3224
Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
I have tried some solution using VST hosts: in the same host, I add several instrument including the Pianoteq VST
Then, I can switch from one instrument to another, but by using the mouse...not a good solution during a performance

This is an example where ideally you choose a piano that is also specifically designed as a MIDI controller. What you would do is create presets on your piano that send the desired specific MIDI Program Change to your other gear, to call up the external sound you want. Casio's forthcoming PX-5 will have this feature (as did its predecessor, the PX-3). Some other boards that do this include Yamaha CP33/CP300/MOX8, Kawai MP6, Kurweil SP4/SP5, Korg Krome, etc., but there are also plenty of boards that don't have this ability.

Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
Is there a solution using pedals ? or others tools

Yes. There are patch selection foot pedals like Rocktron MidiMate, RollsMP128, Behringer FCB1010, for example. If you have an iPad, you can use a program like Set List Maker or Set List Organizer.

Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
Is there a solution using pedals ? or others tools
As VST host, I have no experience, so I made my tests only with GarageBand
do I have to use another VST host ?

I don't know GarageBand, but usually there are ways to switch sounds via MIDI Program Change as discussed. If GarageBand doesn't support it, I'd look at Mainstage.

Top
#2060979 - 04/07/13 07:47 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
emenelton Offline
Full Member

Registered: 08/02/09
Posts: 485
Did you try setting the vsts' on different midi channels and then change the midi channel of the controller?

Top
#2061242 - 04/08/13 11:29 AM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
Bane Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/03/12
Posts: 91
Loc: USA
If you are working in a DAW environment, a cheap MIDI controller pad like Korg's Nanopad would allow you to assign key commands to it. If necessary you could then configure Macros or any routing options ahead of time and make it a breeze during the performance.
_________________________
www.soundcloud.com/btrailblazer

Cable-Nelson upright piano, Casio WK-200, Mackie MR5MK2 monitors, Cubase Artist 7, Steinberg's The Grand 3, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 interface, Asus R500a-RS52 Windows 8, i5-3230M 2.6 gHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB HD (5400RPM)

Top
#2061305 - 04/08/13 02:25 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: Bane]
enzo.sandrolini Online   content
Full Member

Registered: 11/11/09
Posts: 275
Loc: Europe - France
Thanks for all your answers,
but these lead me to others questions:
If I use a midi pedal control, can you control preset and instrument on the vst host ?
do I have to plug the peadl to the MAC or to the DP (midi in ?)

and yes, I have tried to use different midi channel, but you cannot change it "on the fly" on the PX-350

I am not sure a micro pad controler could do the trick, as you have to use your "hands" to control it...difficult while you are playing..with your hands smile

In any case (micro pad controler or pedal controller) do I have to use a specific program to make macros and use them in the VST host ?

In any case, thanks for the advices, I have downloaded Mainstage and I will try it, in order to know what can be achieved with this VST host
Cheers


Edited by enzo.sandrolini (04/08/13 02:27 PM)
_________________________
Music is a lifestyle

Top
#2061310 - 04/08/13 02:39 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3224
Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
If I use a midi pedal control, can you control preset and instrument on the vst host ?

Some of the pedals have more flexibility than others. At a minimum, the pedal will send MIDI Program Change commands, so you can control whatever the host permits you to control by those commands. But if you need to change "banks" (using MSB/LSB to be able to access more than 128 sounds), or send different Program Change commands on different channels, that is beyond the capabilities of the basic pedals. The FCB1010 might be able to handle that, though.

Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
do I have to plug the peadl to the MAC or to the DP (midi in ?)

You want to control the sounds that are in the Mac, so it would plug into the Mac. The MIDI Out of the pedal needs to be merged with the MIDI out of the keyboard. Some of the pedals have that merge functionality built in. Some MIDI interfaces for Mac also may include multiple merged inputs. Worst case, you also need to buy a MIDI Merge box.

Between the expense and the complication, you might also consider selling the PX-350 and picking up the new PX-5 which is built for this kind of application.

Top
#2061352 - 04/08/13 04:35 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
MVshabeer2 Offline
Full Member

Registered: 04/03/11
Posts: 86
This is why hardware synths are still on market.

The VST's only downside

loading time & switching sounds.

It's really a bad idea to use vst's on stage. what if the software/system freeze/crash.

99 times it may not crash but still there 1% chance.

Top
#2061467 - 04/08/13 07:52 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
Bane Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/03/12
Posts: 91
Loc: USA
Macros can be configured in many DAW's like Cubase. It depends on the host you are using, you will want to search the manual.

And yes, unless your setup is very stable I wouldn't trust VST's in a live situation. Especially sample libraries. Be very wary of new software versions, I believe I made a mistake upgrading Cubase to version 7 so fast. It's still incredibly glitchy, and I wouldn't dare trust in anywhere, especially not a performance!
_________________________
www.soundcloud.com/btrailblazer

Cable-Nelson upright piano, Casio WK-200, Mackie MR5MK2 monitors, Cubase Artist 7, Steinberg's The Grand 3, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 interface, Asus R500a-RS52 Windows 8, i5-3230M 2.6 gHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB HD (5400RPM)

Top
#2061477 - 04/08/13 08:12 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
EPW Offline
Full Member

Registered: 07/09/12
Posts: 62
Loc: Chicago, IL USA
There is also programs made for live situations.
like this one:
http://www.cantabilesoftware.com/

Top
#2061540 - 04/08/13 09:57 PM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
loiollin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 04/08/13
Posts: 6
Loc: Banned
I have tried to use different midi channel.

Top
#2061684 - 04/09/13 04:06 AM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: anotherscott]
enzo.sandrolini Online   content
Full Member

Registered: 11/11/09
Posts: 275
Loc: Europe - France
Hello
I have installed MainStage, and indeed, this application gives what I need
Now I have to choose for a controller
Then I would investigate two options:
- IPAD as a Wifi controller : I have seen plenty of applications for that => do you think it is a good idea (OK, I cannot control the IPAD with my feets grin )
- using the highest key notes of the piano for special function => I never use the 5 (or even 10) last keys => what do you think of that ?

Another idea: can I use a second (and even third) piano pedals as "simple" controller ? I mean, only for going forth and back with differents instruments from a list.
_________________________
Music is a lifestyle

Top
#2061745 - 04/09/13 08:01 AM Re: Question about changing VST during live performance [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3224
Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
Another idea: can I use a second (and even third) piano pedals as "simple" controller ? I mean, only for going forth and back with differents instruments from a list.

You might also check into the MIDI Mouse pedal for that.

http://www.tech21nyc.com/products/effects/midimouse.html

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
ad (Casio)
Celviano by Casio Rebate
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Seiler Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
New Topics - Multiple Forums
"How It's Made" and Cunningham Piano Co.
by Rich Galassini
09/30/14 09:43 AM
How many different actions do the Kawai digitals have?
by Giancarlo Robles
09/30/14 09:34 AM
Hearing the changes
by paul abrahams
09/30/14 09:07 AM
My Kawai CA-95 does not record drum patterns
by SP6NIN
09/30/14 06:18 AM
page-turning for tablets
by Barly
09/30/14 04:02 AM
Who's Online
141 registered (A Guy, accordeur, aesop, AaronH, 43 invisible), 1583 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76376 Members
42 Forums
157882 Topics
2318772 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission