2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, 6 invisible), 1,207 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
OP Offline
V
Greetings Everyone!

I am seeking your help on choosing a low to mid end DP. I am a software engineer in China with a tight budget. I would prefer key action as much as possible but portability is needed since I have to move once a year in Canton as a result of the rocketing rent rates frown ). Affordable DP models to me are:

1. Korg SP-180,i.e SP-170DX, CNY3650(580USD) including a wooden stand & a three pedal set, it is almost identical with the previous SP-170s except that it comes with the three pedals. The sound quality is impressive but it lacks such popular functionality as split/dual. Also appears plastic.

2. Casio PX-350/358, price unknown, available in December. The abundance of functions is fascinating. However, the 8 watt *2 speakers are not that attractive. Moreover,keyboards of previous Privia models are reputated for quickly becoming loose over time. Is this PX-350 worth waiting for?

One might be interested in what a PX-358 is, most probably just a PX-350 with a few sounds of Chinese traditional instruments.

3. Roland RP-301,same price as YDP-161. Most expensive among three. However, there is some controversy over the Ivory Feel-G keyboard and I cannot try the keyboard for myself for there isn't one around for demonstration. RP-301 is mostly offered by online dealers.