2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,898 guests, and 338 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
I have been installing player systems for 15+ years. After the whole mortgage debacle and economic collapse my installs has stopped almost completely. I used to do 2 to 4 a month and now I'm doing 2 to 4 a year if I'm lucky. I know the cost scares a lot of people but never used to before 2005. I'm wondering if the addition of a player system has lost it's appeal. The installs were nice clean shop work that is sorely missed now. I do all aspects of piano service and repair but really would like to see player systems make a come back. PianoDisc and Live Performance LX are the most popular brands with the LX being the best playback I've experienced. Anyone else experiencing this trend? I hope this doesn't last because the player piano has entertained folks for over 100 years.

David Chadwick RPT
Newark, Ohio
1931 Mason Hamlin AA
R
R_B Offline
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
R
I think the trend has passed.
Generations, nostalgia, alternatives in entertainment/pastimes/lifestyle, etc.
What grandparents did & had is about the limit of "within living memory" and I think the boomers are the last generation to have experienced player pianos in their youth - and have any nostalgic desire to recapture them...
BICBW, and often I am.

M
M