2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
32 members (Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, admodios, 8 invisible), 1,219 guests, and 340 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2066964 04/19/13 08:21 AM
K
OP Offline
K
right hand plays the melody. easy to remember. but how do we memorize the left hand. I am just an adult beginner. I just came across an exercise in which left hand is playing two melodies at the same time, notes with stems up and down both. finding it difficult to memorize. since left hand is not coming melodious at all. any suggestions?
By the way, I am using the book 'PIANO HANDBOOK' BY CARL HAMPSHIRE

A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
I was about to say, a beginner playing something with two melodies in the left hand?! Then I read you were using the 'Piano Handbook.' That's a wonderful book but has a super steep learning curve.

OK, first thing first. Are you sure the left hand is playing two melodies at once? Or are there two voices in the bass clef and none in the treble clef? Because if that's the case, you would expect to play the upper voice with the right hand even if it's in the bass clef. One thing that's important to remember is that the clef doesn't indicate which hand is playing which, it indicates which clef it is!

I have the "Piano Handbook" at home so I could look it up if you say which piece it is.