Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2069097 - 04/23/13 03:28 AM Kawai MP6 input voltage
yennshin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 04/22/13
Posts: 3
Searched all around the the forum but can't seem to find this info. From pictures I see the Kawai MP6 has a built in transformer, anyone knows if the unit is able to auto switch between voltages (ie 110v - 240v)?

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / PR /Roland
The Right Mic Makes all the Difference. Piano Mics at Sweetwater

Pearl River World's Best Selling Piano

Click Here


#2069108 - 04/23/13 04:14 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
Kawai James Offline
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8822
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
No, I don't believe it's auto-switching, I'm afraid.

Kind regards,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2069166 - 04/23/13 07:35 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
yennshin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 04/22/13
Posts: 3
Thanks James for the quick response. Then I can assume that the MP6 sold at different regions are fitted with specific transformers to handle electricity in there?

Top
#2069174 - 04/23/13 08:03 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
Kawai James Offline
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8822
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Yes, I believe this is the case.

May I ask you to clarify what you had in mind?

James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2069728 - 04/24/13 02:55 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
yennshin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 04/22/13
Posts: 3
Of course, I'm looking to buy a MP6 locally (Malaysia) but the retail price here is much too expensive, rough conversion at about 3.5k USD. So I'm considering the option of buying and shipping from other countries, which would still be much cheaper after including shipping cost and taxes.

Top
#2069747 - 04/24/13 03:56 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
Kawai James Offline
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8822
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Ah, I see. Yes, I can understand why you would want to purchase from elsewhere. However, I'm afraid this is not really something that I can assist with, unfortunately.

Kind regards,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2069752 - 04/24/13 04:08 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
zerox61 Offline
Full Member

Registered: 03/08/12
Posts: 60
I checked the manual:
http://www.kawaius.com/main_links/digital/PRO_2010/OM/MP6_EN_20100825.pdf (page 5)

looks like non auto-switching PSU

Top
#2069931 - 04/24/13 11:40 AM Re: Kawai MP6 input voltage [Re: yennshin]
xorbe Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/31/12
Posts: 568
Loc: Mt View, CA
It's not a high-current device (only 25W). Try to find a 100W quality 120-240VAC converter (one that does a pure sine wave, not a square wave). I got a 2000W 125-100VAC converter for Japanese products for less than USD$100. It's just a straight transformer (wound wire, not electronics), so I can use it to step the AC voltage down OR up!

It looks like this:
www.amazon.com/dp/B001ES8YY6

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
European Piano Party 2014, Picts & Stories! (Piano Party in Portugal)
-------------------
75,000 Members and Growing!
-------------------
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Knabe Pianos
(ad) Purely Piano Practice Software
Purely Piano Practice Software
(ad) Piano Guide Lessons
Piano Guide Lessons
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
98 registered (Abby Pianoman, accordeur, Almaviva, 29 invisible), 1497 Guests and 39 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
75336 Members
42 Forums
155778 Topics
2287315 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Emergency help!
by Parks
07/10/14 11:36 PM
Pain in my lower back, help!!
by rov
07/10/14 10:55 PM
If there were only 2 choices..
by ChopinFan66
07/10/14 08:04 PM
symphonic pianomusic
by dolce sfogato
07/10/14 06:16 PM
First Digital Piano - Casio AP250 or Roland RP301?
by Jorgeb
07/10/14 02:07 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission