Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad) End Stage Fright
End Stage Fright
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Page 7 of 12 < 1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 11 12 >
Topic Options
#2066980 - 04/19/13 08:46 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
(ad) Roland

Click Here

#2067010 - 04/19/13 09:50 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/19/10
Posts: 1317
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???


Nope - we had that discussion before. The only solution is to use a pedal to MIDI converter and go into MIDI IN at the Casio. With a half-pedaling capable pedal attached to the MIDI converter of course...

Top
#2067066 - 04/19/13 11:22 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: JFP]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Originally Posted By: JFP
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???


Nope - we had that discussion before. The only solution is to use a pedal to MIDI converter and go into MIDI IN at the Casio. With a half-pedaling capable pedal attached to the MIDI converter of course...


Sorry .. must've missed that somehow...

Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2067082 - 04/19/13 11:45 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3075
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!

The Pedal Controller.

Top
#2067102 - 04/19/13 12:17 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: anotherscott]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Originally Posted By: anotherscott
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!

The Pedal Controller.


So the pedal goes into the TRS *1/4" input,
the MIDI out goes into the Privia. Does the
Privia go into MIDI IN?
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2067133 - 04/19/13 01:24 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3075
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
So the pedal goes into the TRS *1/4" input,
the MIDI out goes into the Privia. Does the
Privia go into MIDI IN?

Yes, though only for the purpose of supplying power to the box. (They also make a separate power adapter you can get, but usually you can tap power off the host keyboard that way.)

Top
#2067833 - 04/21/13 01:10 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
So I went ahead and bit the bullet shocked
My Px5s should be here later this week.

It's funny how I have come full circle...
my VERY first keyboard (toy really)
was a Casio SK-1... the $99 "sampler" keyboard:


This is a bit of a step-up!

I will be using it in a wide variety
of applications: MIDI controller,
street "busking", practice when
late so acoustic doesn't bother the Mrs.,
as well as playing with all the synth.

Thanks Mike and everyone for their valuable input!
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2068594 - 04/22/13 11:09 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
If anyone is wanting one of these,
I would say: Giddy-Up.. they are
going fast. Many places are already
sold-out!
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2069454 - 04/23/13 04:47 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"! blush

_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2069536 - 04/23/13 07:00 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
Possum SP280Krome Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/23/10
Posts: 589
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"! blush




Just make sure when you get it the buttons are evenly spaced apart and at an even height! Make sure the alarm isn't muffled either!!
_________________________
Roland Juno Gi
Casio PX-130
Korg Krome 61
Korg SP280

Rokit KRK 6 monitors
MXL V67G microphone

Top
#2069541 - 04/23/13 07:12 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8371
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Wow, the memories!
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2069562 - 04/23/13 08:22 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Wow, the memories!


Really takes you back, right? I saw one on a
TV show and wondered "Do they still make those?"

Yup.. they do.. only $25... Casio how DO you do it? grin
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2069566 - 04/23/13 08:34 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8371
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
I remember receiving one for my birthday as a child - I was the envy of everyone in my class. wink
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2069567 - 04/23/13 08:36 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
I remember receiving one for my birthday as a child - I was the envy of everyone in my class. wink


LOL - you must be around my age...it was cool
back then.. Now... N E R D! If my kid
wore one of these he would get picked on until
my the bully's throat was sore!


Edited by Plinky88 (04/23/13 08:37 PM)
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2069688 - 04/24/13 12:20 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
CyberGene Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 701
Loc: Sofia, Bulgaria
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
I saw one on a
TV show


Breaking Bad? smile I also had one of those as a kid! It was soooooooo cool! I am still tempted by the idea laugh


Edited by CyberGene (04/24/13 12:20 AM)
_________________________
http://www.myspace.com/evgenykumanov
Current DP: Kawai ES7
Previous DP-s: Kawai MP6, Kawai CA63, Roland RD-700SX, Roland FP-5, Yamaha P90, Korg SP-200, Casio CDP-100

Top
#2069807 - 04/24/13 08:19 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
Originally Posted By: CyberGene
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
I saw one on a
TV show


Breaking Bad? smile I also had one of those as a kid! It was soooooooo cool! I am still tempted by the idea laugh


It was "The Office" when Jim imitated Dwight.

[video:youtube]http://youtu.be/Utu5SnO9PIg?t=44s[/video]


I watch Breaking Bad but didn't remember until
you mentioned it.. yup William White has
a Databank too!

For $25 it's good for a laugh..,,


Edited by Plinky88 (04/24/13 01:42 PM)
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2070177 - 04/24/13 07:03 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin]
icarusi Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/13/12
Posts: 3
Originally Posted By: Mike_Martin
Paul,
I don't know yet. I'm trying to find out from other Casio staff. My best guess would be June
One of the local stockists checked the distributer who said they weren't sure if they would bring to the UK 'at all'! Other online co's have an item but no price or availability just 'coming soon'.

Top
#2070181 - 04/24/13 07:13 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin]
icarusi Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/13/12
Posts: 3
Originally Posted By: Plinky88
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"!

I've still got one of these:-

Top
#2070183 - 04/24/13 07:19 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8371
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
^ That's beautiful!
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2070212 - 04/24/13 08:22 PM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 07/21/09
Posts: 381
One of the few "lefty" keyboards with controls on the right.
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
#2070490 - 04/25/13 08:23 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Scott Hamlin Online   content
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 531
And now we play "The Waiting Game"....
should be here by 5pm!
_________________________
http://DulceLabs.com
Sound, Video, Design

Top
#2075428 - 05/02/13 12:41 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
marknz Offline
Full Member

Registered: 03/19/11
Posts: 61
Loc: Auckland, New Zealand
Just got the PX5 S in store yesterday here in New Zealand. After all the hype I couldn't wait to give it a go. I'm a believer. The Pianos are slightly better to my ears than the PX350 piano sounds which a very good, but the EPs are way better than anything I've ever heard from Casio before. Similarly the Synth and guitar sounds are way better than the standard casio range of sounds and I would say are now competitive to any other top brand on the market.
To fully understand what the PX5 S can do will take a bit of learning but I am very impressed.
_________________________
Roland RD700NX, Korg SV1 88.

Thank God for the gift of Music

Top
#2075468 - 05/02/13 01:29 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 07/21/09
Posts: 381
Marknz,
Thanks for giving the PX-5S a try. thumb

We're getting ready for a firmware update which I think should be out in about a week. Along with that we'll be releasing a lot of new sounds including new acoustic pianos, electric pianos, synths and more.

We're getting some great new EP sounds out of it that are far different from what you played already, which just shows how flexible the engine in the PX-5S really is. Here is a quick example:

https://soundcloud.com/casiomusicgear/new-roadz-phased

We're posting new audio demos almost daily.

Again thanks for giving it a listen.
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
#2075492 - 05/02/13 01:45 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8371
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Mike, by 'new sounds', are you saying that the PX-5X is able to load new wave data/samples, or do you actually mean new presets - i.e. the same wave data/samples, but utilised in different ways?

Cheers,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2075623 - 05/02/13 04:14 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James]
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/19/10
Posts: 1317
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Kawai James
Mike, by 'new sounds', are you saying that the PX-5X is able to load new wave data/samples, or do you actually mean new presets - i.e. the same wave data/samples, but utilised in different ways?

Cheers,
James
x


Interesting question; I think the latter...

Top
#2075713 - 05/02/13 08:51 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 07/21/09
Posts: 381
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
#2075736 - 05/02/13 09:33 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3075
Originally Posted By: Mike_Martin
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile

Interesting. So even though the user cannot load new samples into the PX-5S, new samples can be loaded in via manufacturer supplied firmware update? That's pretty significant.

Top
#2075740 - 05/02/13 09:39 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Kawai James Online   content
8000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 8371
Loc: Hamamatsu, Japan
Interesting indeed. May I ask you to clarify this point please, Mike?

I wonder how large the samples stored in the firmware can be, and if all of the samples themselves can be replaced (i.e. ram, not rom).

Cheers,
James
x
_________________________
Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.

"Richard, none of us could forget you have a CLP-990." - EssBrace, 2014

Top
#2075741 - 05/02/13 09:40 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin]
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/19/10
Posts: 1317
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Mike_Martin
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile


Meaning you (as a user) cannot add new samples to the PX5 , but Casio as the developer can indeed add / exchange the underlying sample data. Interesting ! Could that possibly mean that when Casio records a new AP sample set in the future (for a new Privia series) , the current AP sample base could be exchanged by the new version as well ? I mean in theory , cause marketing probably won't allow that to happen, since it will eat away sales of the next generation of Privia series.

I understood the sample-set on the Numa Piano series can be exchanged in the same way by updated versions with a firmware update. That's what they may do for the little Numa Piano they said - adding some of the higher end Numa Concert sound-base.

If Casio goes along the same path the investment in a Privia seems even more worthwhile , since you can update the base sound set when better material is available. To what extend this will happen is of course unclear - upcoming Privia series with enhanced sounds have to be sold as well...Very curious about the upcoming update !

Top
#2075742 - 05/02/13 09:41 AM Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene]
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 07/21/09
Posts: 381
Guys,
Do not read more into this than there is. We're supplementing the existing ROM with some more content in this firmware update. I would not expect more samples to be added.
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
Page 7 of 12 < 1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 11 12 >

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Download & Print Sheet Music Instantly
sheet music search
sheet music search

sheet music search
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
144 registered (36251, alex-kid, angga888, 45 invisible), 1551 Guests and 53 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
74206 Members
42 Forums
153507 Topics
2249556 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Beginner adult book to read AWAY from the piano?
by What?
Today at 07:46 PM
Sharing custom patches for Ravenscroft?
by Tonio
Today at 07:40 PM
Mozart K310 fingering
by Morodiene
Today at 07:11 PM
1952 Bechstein Grand Piano - family needs appraisal
by feigede
Today at 05:43 PM
Ruben Schoutrop - Nocturne Op. 55 No. 1 in F Minor
by Ruben1
Today at 05:14 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission