2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, 6 invisible), 1,932 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
Hi there,
As an adult beginner, I could be benefiting from some gross motors skills activities. Somewhat, learning piano is mostly fine motor development and I wonder whether you come across some gross motor activities that can contribute to adult music learning. The most common activities are: foot tapping, clapping.... I also wonder whether there is a set of activities that gradually build one's skills, specially in relation to rhythm building.
Let me know your thoughts.

P
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
P
Teachers of children use activities like marching to the beat, marching while clapping the rhythm, clapping the beat, clapping the rhythm, drumming or using other rhythm instruments or shakers, giant arm circles to the beat, clapping the rhythm or beat on one's thighs, tapping the rhythm on the closed keyboard cover (either just the RH rhythm, just the LH rhythm, or both), etc. You could also just dance interpretively to the music (either a recording, or singing it yourself), emphasizing the beat or the rhythm or the melody or the accompaniment as the spirit moves you.

I have often thought these would be useful for adults as well.