2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,725 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2076504 05/03/13 08:56 AM
Ragdoll Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I just have too many irons in the fire.

I looked further into the book where I am studying Come Back to Sorrento and saw a Grieg piece (In the Hall of The Mountain King) and thought well maybe I could learn this ha That's when my reality check ricocheted off the wall into my head. My reach has always exceeded my grasp. It's just too much right now. My ego deflated to a more manageable size right off. blush

Maybe in a few more months I'll look at it again.

Ragdoll

At first, she only flew when she thought no one was watching.

[Linked Image]
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Was this your selected piece for the Grieg recital? It's not original to the piano, so it's a transcription. Transcriptions are notorious for being difficult because they are trying to condense and entire orchestra (and choir in the case!) into two hands. Some transcriptions are unplayable as written and it is up to the performer to then decide which parts they will play - so it is perfectly acceptable to drop notes here.

You may also want to look at a different transcription as I am sure there are many different ones of varying levels around.

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member