2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (brennbaer, busa, Bellyman, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, bobrunyan, 13 invisible), 1,971 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
compared to false beginners? I have learned piano independently on my own using rocket and PFA and other resources and as a result have a moderately good understanding of basics. What I am looking right now is to learn specific pieces with a teacher, and not using precious lesson time on FACE and middle C. I believe those are important too but since I studied them independently, the logical choice would be to go beyond them.

For example, I want to learn to play bohemian rhapsody on the piano and have the teacher go measure by measure explaining this is the technique and this is the tie....sort of decoding the song....sort of song analysis..."standing on the shoulders of giants method"

But I am finding teachers that I have spoken to reluctant to lead such a session....I dont want the dots...I want someone to help me connect the dots to get the whole picture...

What are your experiences my friends given my sincere sharing...
Warm regards,

Peace and love and play smile
D
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
Two preliminary comments before I think more deeply about the thread's question:

1. Some teachers don't want a total beginner. But those that do want one because they don't have to get the student to first unlearn all of their bad habits.