2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi Pianoworld.com forum members,

Disclaimer: I sincerely apologize in advance if the following is a recurring question here on the forum, but I'd like to get your input as to the latest developments & products.

Ok, so I am a hobbyist musician. I play guitar and bass mostly. My son started taking piano lessons last year and he made quite a progress. So far he's been practicing on a Casio Privia PX110 and I want to get him something (a home digital piano) that will draw his motivation even further.

Based on the little shopping around I did I am more inclined towards Kawai as a brand in general. I find the wooden keys on CE220 very tempting. I know that the stage pianos like Kawai MP6, or Roland's offer more, but then I'll have to find a stand/table, hook it to some good speakers and at the end it wouldn't look as nice.

Budget: $2,000, or less of course.
Purchasing options: I live in the USA's midwest, there is a Schmitt Piano store as well as Guitar Center about 45 mins. from where I live. Buying online is also an option although I'd prefer not to expose the piano to mail carriers handling or mishandling rather.

So, please let me hear your suggestions.
Thanks.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I would also consider a portable instrument such as the Roland FP-80 or Kawai ES7 with the optional furniture stand and pedal lyre.