2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, 4 invisible), 1,228 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
OP Offline
M
Hi there, I am currently working towards making an application to do an MA in music therapy. I have to record three pieces - two contrasting pieces and one singing piece accompanying myself.

My first is Liszt's Consolation No.3, my singing piece will be Dream a little dream but I'm stuck on my third. I am a grade 8 pianist, but I passed the exam 20 years ago, with not much piano playing in between, so I'm rapidly trying to get up to scratch with everything, but with a new baby, it's hard to keep up. So I need something that sounds good, but not too too hard, grade 6/7 level, and something jazzy and fun - oh, and something I can learn between now and September.

Would be great to hear some suggestions.
Thanks

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Chris Norton has some great pieces in his Jazz Preludes book. My favorite is Latinate, I also like Tie Break and Chicken Feed. He's written a lot, so check out some of his other books as well.

Mark Hayes did a ragtime version of the gospel tune "I'll Fly Away" which is very entertaining and doable in this time frame. I assume that arrangements are acceptable for this audition, but you may want to check on that first.