2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
Jimmy3 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
What are your experiences with available correspondence piano tuning courses?
I am a piano lessons teacher and performing artist seeking to round out my skills as a full-time musician with part time work tuning and providing basic piano repair.
I have found three courses online at varied prices which i would consider undertaking.

The Piano Tuner's Super Home Study Course. Includes tools and a lot of email availability to the author, Ron Falcone for $745

The American School of Piano Tuning. Includes tools and parts. Long-time established 'school' with testing and diplomas, but I'm not clear about availability of person to person assistance. $1290

Randy Potter School of Piano Tuning. Includes tools and parts, videos. $1795 includes an action model $995 without the model.

I want to learn well. But I don't want to be overwhelmed with detail. I wonder if the less expensive option(s) are for me??

Please help me with your correspondence course experiences. Thanks!

M
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
M
Hi Jimmy,

I am answering as a resource who has experience in the education of technicians, and not in anyway in an attempt to change your mind about coreespondance courses as a vehicle to learning the trade.