2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, 9 invisible), 1,250 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hello,

Here's a little background. I'm a Chinese speaker who's lived in the US for over 20 years but I've never been able to count fast in English. It's always felt easier and much more accurate to count in Chinese. I'm not sure why but I guess that's how my brain works.

I started learning the piano 2 years ago and counted the notes in Chinese. But when I got to 1/8 notes, my teacher told me that I need to count faster. I'm having some problems playing fast and I'd like to fix it as soon as I can.

So here's my question for those of you who speak Chinese: how do you count 1/8 and 1/16 notes in Chinese?

Many thanks in advance!

If you don't think too good, don't think too much (Ted Williams)
A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
I couldn't help with Chinese but, in general, counting beyond an eighth note will never work - and at modest tempos not even 8th notes. I wouldn't bother trying!

What you need to get is the inner pulse, to feel the rhythm internally. Count the quarter notes if you need. Very occasionally, slowing things down I'll count less but hardly at all.

• Debussy - Le Petit Nègre, L. 114
  • Haydn - Sonata in Gm, Hob. XVI/44

Kawai K3
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Originally Posted by Andy Platt