Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2110457 - 06/30/13 05:14 AM Who uses headphone socket to record from?
peterws Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/21/12
Posts: 3451
Loc: Northern England.
On my peeann-oh I have to do this, (no other output) and I like the results although a pure "digital piano" sound seems not to be on the cards; Pianoteq fills that gap quite nicely. I`d be interested in hearing others who do the same . . .and the results. Are you happy with them?
_________________________
"I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

""

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / PR /Roland
Your Next Keyboard is at Sweetwater

Pearl River World's Best Selling Piano

Click Here


#2110469 - 06/30/13 06:07 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
o0Ampy0o Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/18/12
Posts: 473
Don't you have a Yamaha DGX 630 with USB?

If so, that would connect you to a computer and Audacity for a simple and free recording solution.



Connecting the DGX 630 to a computer page 105 of manual.

Top
#2110476 - 06/30/13 06:22 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: o0Ampy0o]
peterws Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/21/12
Posts: 3451
Loc: Northern England.
The USB is USB2 output which doesn`t include audio. So I can transmit MIDI data files but that`s all. All saved songs are the same; playback through the piano is ok - which means headphone socket. The new 650 model has audio outputs that mine doesn`t have (Gallic Shrug)
_________________________
"I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

""

Top
#2110480 - 06/30/13 06:27 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
o0Ampy0o Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/18/12
Posts: 473
OK I wasn't thinking about that when I suggested using Audacity. (You mentioned Pianoteq even so I really missed it linking to hook up directions). You can transmit MIDI to a DAW to record. It won't be the piano's internal sounds which is what you may be specifically wanting to do.

Top
#2110660 - 06/30/13 03:04 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
jarosujo Offline
Full Member

Registered: 03/12/12
Posts: 237
Loc: Slovakia
I tried it as my DP doesn't have line-out (which should be more suitable for recording than headphone-out) and was not happy. I think I used Audacity and there was some noise in recording. But my headphones works fine with DP, so it was probably software problem. I am using DAW with vintage D for recording now and it works quite well. Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)
_________________________
Yamaha NP-V80 (sold)
Yamaha DGX640 (sold)
Kawai CL-36
Pianoteq Standard + Intel NUC DC3217BY + Sennheiser HD598 + Fostex PM0.4n + NI Audio 2

Top
#2110778 - 06/30/13 06:33 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: jarosujo]
peterws Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/21/12
Posts: 3451
Loc: Northern England.
"Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)"

Some touch ups?? WHAAAAT?? (how d`ya do `em? cool)
_________________________
"I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

""

Top
#2110781 - 06/30/13 06:39 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
o0Ampy0o Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/18/12
Posts: 473
Peter,

Sometimes I cannot tell whether you are joking or serious. If you want to know how to touch up a MIDI recording in a DAW, basically, it is like moving bar graphs and aligning them with a grid. You can also cut or copy and paste a note with a particular attack and replace or place it wherever you want it. You change the key by pasting it in a different position on the grid.

smile

Top
#2110830 - 06/30/13 08:06 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
scorpio Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/30/12
Posts: 498
Loc: Connecticut, USA
"touch ups?" confused

Forget playing, let's just hand draw the notes in a midi file and record with your favorite software piano. Oh heck, why did I buy a digital piano in the first place???
_________________________

    Yamaha P-155

    Top
    #2110975 - 07/01/13 03:54 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: o0Ampy0o]
    peterws Offline
    3000 Post Club Member

    Registered: 07/21/12
    Posts: 3451
    Loc: Northern England.
    Ampy, I was guessing as much. But I`m shocked! I really wonder if I might be tempted to do the same . . . . .No. I think I`d rather give up and do something else . .
    _________________________
    "I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

    ""

    Top
    #2111122 - 07/01/13 11:11 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
    pv88 Offline
    2000 Post Club Member

    Registered: 08/31/10
    Posts: 2610
    @peterws,

    Here is an example of a recording I have done at the Kawai CA95 using only a single audio cable from the headphone jack to the computer in which I record directly into Audacity.

    I also monitor the recording by listening to the playing through a pair of headphones from the 2nd headphone jack:

    https://www.box.com/s/n5sejsycnhkhz2chl86h

    Top
    #2111129 - 07/01/13 11:25 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
    scorpio Offline
    Full Member

    Registered: 11/30/12
    Posts: 498
    Loc: Connecticut, USA
    I found that the recording process can vary greatly based on the volume settings, in both Audacity and the DP. I have yet to find the sweet spot for my setup.

    Another issue I have come across is that I get much more "noise" when using Audacity vs. my DAW (Mixcraft), with same settings.

    Edit: others have had similar issues with Audacity (from reviewing several piano forums).


    Edited by scorpio (07/01/13 11:26 AM)
    _________________________

      Yamaha P-155

      Top
      #2112275 - 07/03/13 03:59 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: pv88]
      peterws Offline
      3000 Post Club Member

      Registered: 07/21/12
      Posts: 3451
      Loc: Northern England.
      pv88
      Thanks for that. Great recording, nothing lacking there. The piano sparkles nicely. That`s set my mind at rest, anyway - I have a piano that is bloody unique! Like somebody`s thrown a tub o` treacle into the mix. ..


      Edited by peterws (07/03/13 04:00 PM)
      _________________________
      "I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

      ""

      Top
      #2112280 - 07/03/13 04:04 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]
      peterws Offline
      3000 Post Club Member

      Registered: 07/21/12
      Posts: 3451
      Loc: Northern England.
      Scorpio, I wonder if the noise you encounter is due to an earth loop? My piano has no earth . . .I had this trouble when using an earthed external amplifier with an earthed laptop. I disconnected the laptop earth and all was well.
      _________________________
      "I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

      ""

      Top
      #2112300 - 07/03/13 04:28 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
      Recaredo Offline
      1000 Post Club Member

      Registered: 05/04/11
      Posts: 1070
      Loc: Southeast of Spain
      I make my recordings from the headphone socket to the audio input on the computer, but I am not very pleased with the results.

      I wonder if this kind of devices could improve the sound quality

      http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_xenyx_302_usb.htm


      Edited by Recaredo (07/03/13 04:31 PM)
      Edit Reason: link in english
      _________________________

      My website

      Top
      #2112302 - 07/03/13 04:31 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
      scorpio Offline
      Full Member

      Registered: 11/30/12
      Posts: 498
      Loc: Connecticut, USA
      peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

      Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

      Thanks for the idea and comment.
      _________________________

        Yamaha P-155

        Top
        #2112305 - 07/03/13 04:36 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]
        peterws Offline
        3000 Post Club Member

        Registered: 07/21/12
        Posts: 3451
        Loc: Northern England.
        " I made sure everything was grounded. "

        The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .
        _________________________
        "I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

        ""

        Top
        #2112334 - 07/03/13 05:53 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
        Daniel Corban Offline
        Full Member

        Registered: 05/17/13
        Posts: 214
        Loc: Canada
        It's possible that the resistance your computer, or whatever device, has on its input is causing the line noise if you do not hear it via headphones. Piano amps seem to be sensitive to this sort of thing. I assume if you are using the balanced line out from your piano, it may not have this problem.
        _________________________
        Playing: Yamaha CLP-440

        Top
        #2113041 - 07/05/13 12:02 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
        p.elvis Offline
        Junior Member

        Registered: 07/02/13
        Posts: 7

        Top
        #2113080 - 07/05/13 03:43 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]
        de cajon Offline
        Full Member

        Registered: 06/10/13
        Posts: 172
        Loc: London, UK
        Originally Posted By: peterws
        " I made sure everything was grounded. "

        The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .


        If nothing is grounded, don't touch a thing. And don't put your face anywhere near a microphone!

        The idea is to have one item grounded and for everything else to take their ground from that. You want a ground chain but not a ground loop.

        I suppose the higher voltage over here makes us more careful. I wouldn't want to go sucking on 230V from a microphone. [Edit] Hang on, you're in England! And still alive![/Edit]


        Edited by jdeacon (07/05/13 03:45 AM)
        _________________________
        Yamaha C3X SH

        Top
        #2113088 - 07/05/13 04:09 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: de cajon]
        peterws Offline
        3000 Post Club Member

        Registered: 07/21/12
        Posts: 3451
        Loc: Northern England.
        Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!
        _________________________
        "I'm playing all the right notes but not necessarily in the right order." Eric Morecambe

        ""

        Top
        #2113090 - 07/05/13 04:32 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]
        UKIkarus Offline
        Full Member

        Registered: 03/05/13
        Posts: 270
        Loc: England, South East
        Originally Posted By: scorpio
        peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

        Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

        Thanks for the idea and comment.



        With regards to audacity producing noise in recordings I can vouch for that, I happen to be the same UKIkarus that administrates/moderates the KyleLandry website and have seen quite a few posts regarding such issues both on there and on other sites.

        I have given it a shot myself over a USB audio/midi cable from my MOX88 which should have no noise at all being digital in nature and it does indeed add a small amount to the recordings, as such I have used Cubase since.

        As for recording quality you will of course (as I'm sure you are aware) want to get the clearest and dare I say it (loudest without peaking/noise) sound you can get from the source straight into the software and if anything tweak the volume etc DOWN from there unless absolutely necessary, obviously less noise at the source results in less noise when processed smile


        Originally Posted By: peterws
        Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!



        Cannot say I have ever experienced a shock from one yet, let's hope it remains that way laugh


        Edited by UKIkarus (07/05/13 04:53 AM)
        _________________________
        Yamaha MOX8 Synthesizer


        Top

        Moderator:  Piano World 
        What's Hot!!
        Our latest Issue is available now...
        Piano News - Interesting & Fun Piano Related Newsletter! (free)
        -------------------
        HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
        -------------------
        Sharing is Caring!
        About the Buttons
        -------------------
        Forums Rules & Help
        -------------------
        ADVERTISE
        on Piano World

        The world's most popular piano web site.
        (ad) HAILUN Pianos
        Hailun Pianos - Click for More
        Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
        Knabe Pianos
        Sheet Music
        (PW is an affiliate)
        Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
        (125ad) Dampp Chaser
        Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
        (ad) Lindeblad Piano
        Lindeblad Piano Restoration
        Who's Online
        138 registered (Alex1, accordeur, 36251, anotherscott, Alkanaut, 43 invisible), 1706 Guests and 18 Spiders online.
        Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
        Forum Stats
        75566 Members
        42 Forums
        156231 Topics
        2294518 Posts

        Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
        New Topics - Multiple Forums
        Meaning of Perfect Fith in music theory
        by Weiyan
        07/28/14 07:14 PM
        Practicing slow is only part of it
        by Sweet06
        07/28/14 06:50 PM
        Intro to Elton John's 'Nikita'
        by Visalia
        07/28/14 06:31 PM
        Is a Yamaha P35 appropriate for church services?
        by Giancarlo Robles
        07/28/14 03:59 PM
        Need suggestions for Music Room
        by Gatsbee13
        07/28/14 03:39 PM
        (ads by Google)

        Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

         
        Our Piano Related Classified Ads
        | Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

        Advertise on Piano World
        | Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
        | |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


        copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
        No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission