Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
Who's Online
71 registered (beeboss, andyvn579, Bachus, Beakybird, 19 invisible), 913 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2112913 - 07/04/13 04:50 PM Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US?
pv88 Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/31/10
Posts: 3270
Can anyone check to see if their CLP's have a "voltage selector" dial as shown in the images below:

The snap shots were taken from the Owner's Manual:

http://imgur.com/3OZ9PKU

http://imgur.com/EPvwxSJ

Note that in the US the voltage for wall outlets is 120 volts although the image above shows the voltage selector dial as having four options:

110, 127, 220, 240

None of the numbers on the dial match the "120" as needed in the US so am I correct to assume that the CLP-480 I am getting will probably not have a voltage selector?

Top
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2112932 - 07/04/13 05:56 PM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: pv88]
ando Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/23/10
Posts: 4519
Loc: Melbourne, Australia
Originally Posted By: pv88
Can anyone check to see if their CLP's have a "voltage selector" dial as shown in the images below and which country are you in?

The snap shots were taken from the Owner's Manual:

http://imgur.com/3OZ9PKU

http://imgur.com/EPvwxSJ

Since I live in the US please note that the voltage for wall outlets is 120 volts although the image above shows the voltage selector dial as having four options:

110, 127, 220, 240

None of the numbers on the dial match the "120" as needed in the US so am I correct to assume that the CLP-480 I am getting will probably not even have a voltage selector?

It appears as if no one in this forum may own a CLP-480 as of yet (and is also in the US) so I will probably need to wait for the piano to arrive before I can verify this.


US voltages are typically much closer to 110V than 127V. Just use the 110V setting. There is a margin for error with voltages. A 10% margin on consumer electronics is not considered significant. Japan uses 110V .

Top
#2112959 - 07/04/13 07:21 PM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: pv88]
MacMacMac Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 4477
Loc: North Carolina
The US (and Canada) run at 120 VAC. So, from the four options, choose 127.
Originally Posted By: pv88
Since I live in the US please note that the voltage for wall outlets is 120 volts although the image above shows the voltage selector dial as having four options: 110, 127, 220, 240

Top
#2112965 - 07/04/13 07:29 PM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: pv88]
EssBrace Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/01/09
Posts: 2629
Loc: Suffolk, United Kingdom
He won't have to choose from anything - the dealer will bring it fully assembled and ready to go.
_________________________
Roland RD-1000 | Yamaha CP1 | Physis H1

Top
(ad) SWEETWATER
The Right Mic Makes all the Difference. Piano Mics at Sweetwater
#2112982 - 07/04/13 08:21 PM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: pv88]
rnaple Offline

Silver Supporter until April 24 2014


Registered: 12/23/10
Posts: 2197
Loc: Rocky Mountains
I do have to admit that the 127 appears odd.
Where I live. They love to use a 4 wire Wye configuration.
At my apartment. I'm at about 123 to 124 volts.
_________________________
Ron
Your brain is a sponge. Keep it wet. Mary Gae George
The focus of your personal practice is discipline. Not numbers. Scott Sonnon

Top
#2113030 - 07/04/13 11:33 PM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: rnaple]
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/17/13
Posts: 215
Loc: Canada
The US and Canada models do not even have this option. The power supply doesn't have a selectable voltage. Ignore what the manual shows.
_________________________
Playing: Yamaha GC2

Top
#2113039 - 07/05/13 12:00 AM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: Daniel Corban]
pv88 Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 08/31/10
Posts: 3270
Originally Posted By: Daniel Corban
The US and Canada models do not even have this option. The power supply doesn't have a selectable voltage. Ignore what the manual shows.


There will be a power plug but probably no voltage selector dial. I am guessing that the voltage selector dial does not apply to US models. Just plug in the power cord as usual and that's it. Will be able to confirm this when the piano arrives and can look to see before plugging it in.

Top
#2113153 - 07/05/13 09:13 AM Re: Clavinova CLP owners - "Voltage selector" option in US? [Re: pv88]
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/17/13
Posts: 215
Loc: Canada
Yes, there is simply no dial at all.
_________________________
Playing: Yamaha GC2

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
(ad 125) Sweetwater $4700 Giveaway
Sweetwater Giveaway
(ad) Yamaha CP Stage Pianos
Yamaha CP Stage Pianos - Learn More
(ad) Summer Keys
Summer Keys, a Music Adventure in Lubec, Maine
(ads) PD - WNG - MH
Wessell Nickel & Gross
Ad (the Piano Store)
the Piano Store - Restored Steinway Pianos
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Need help! Anyone know about Kawai DS-8B ?
by Winkplay
02/06/16 11:31 PM
hunidifier system
by andyvn579
02/06/16 08:37 PM
HELP - GEM RealPiano RP800 - PROBLEM
by PocatelloAVS
02/06/16 05:10 PM
Speaking of Estonia ...
by BruceD
02/06/16 02:15 PM
What is the piece starting at 7:18?
by pianoloverus
02/06/16 01:41 PM
Forum Stats
82,503 Registered Members
44 Forums
170,316 Topics
2,492,953 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2016 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission