2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, David B, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, 15 invisible), 1,828 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2123265 07/26/13 11:21 AM
S
Sally C Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I apologize if this post is in the wrong forum, as this is my first time posting here. My son and I both play the piano. He is a beginner and I am an adult student. We moved recently and are taking lessons from someone who lives nearby. She has great credentials but I feel her approach is a little rigid. We have to decide soon if we want to continue for the fall term or find another teacher. I have interviewed so many people at this point that I am entirely confused. How long does it take to get a feel for how to work with a student? As teachers, how flexible is your approach? My son is very young and just starting to read music. We are using the Faber books and he is so confused by the "play with your finger number" thing. I'd appreciate advice on a typical time frame for "settling in" with a teacher and also any words of wisdom on Faber books and teaching beginners. I have my own issues as an adult, but I think finding the right teacher for my son is a more pressing matter.

B
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
B
How long does it take to get a feel for how to work with a student? As teachers, how flexible is your approach?