2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 13 invisible), 2,110 guests, and 299 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Hello piano people...

I am looking for a good online course that teaches the chords based/ playing by ear approach, composition, melody building etc and NO SIGHTREADING!

I am a beginner and know some basic chords and inversions, can play some scales by ear, pick out notes by ear but struggle with sight reading and in fact hate it. I was having lessons and didn't get very far with sight reading at all.

I can noodle about somewhat/make up basic little songs, but want a structured course that can help me build upon my natural inclination to tinker with chords, play by ear etc.

I want to compose eventually- modern classics style - I don't want to do blues, gospel or pop - all the online courses I have seen so far, helpful though they are for chords are these styles.

I feel I am asking too much- is there a course there that will teach me what I need? I have barely played since May and lost interest in sheet music.

R
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R
It seems like half the population of England are members at PianoMagic ... and moving along well I might add.

http://www.pianomagic.com/index.asp

Rerun

"Seat of the pants piano player" DMD

[Linked Image]

B

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member
B