2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, brennbaer, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,855 guests, and 313 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
Peter, when I was a young teacher, I got my belly full of the parents who started their children several weeks or more late in the Fall, and always found a reason to quite attending lessons in late May. This was bad for the student's learning, obviously it hurt my income, and it was extremely frustrating - suddenly you have gaping holes in your teaching schedule, your annual recital has been torpedoed, to say nothing about the average cost per student for that event climbing. That's what caused me to initially consider annual tuition. It took one year for parents to adjust to the concept. When new families called and asked how much I charged per lesson, my answer was "I don't. Students pay tuition, enrollment fee, which covers the entire school year." There are a total of 52 lessons through the school year; 36 individual lessons and the remainder offered as group lessons. Parents to whom the cost of lessons is more important than the quality of the teacher can go through the mental gyrations and come up with what ever figure suits their fancy.

"Those who dare to teach must never cease to learn." -- Richard Henry Dann
Full-time Private Piano Teacher offering Piano Lessons in Olympia, WA. www.mypianoteacher.com
Certified by the American College of Musicians; member NGPT, MTNA, WSMTA, OMTA
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M