2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (alexcomoda, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,157 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 7 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
P
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
P
I left out the aural component of this. You may find, either now or later with more experience, that you can tell by the sound of a piece if it's in a major key vs. a minor key. That can be another clue or confirmation in determining the key -- not the letter name, but at least if it's major or minor.

I'm not very good at this aural skill. Or maybe it's that I don't have a lot of confidence in my ability. I do often experience starting to play a piece and thinking "I really like the sound of this." Then I check the key and lo and behold it's in a minor key. (I like minor keys a lot.) So clearly I recognize something in minor keys, but I can't bring it into analytical verbal focus just from my aural experience.

Piano Career Academy - Ilinca Vartic teaches the Russian school of piano playing
Musical-U - guidance for increasing musicality
Theta Music Trainer - fun ear training games
Shey Offline OP
OP Offline
Oooops, I said dumbing down, you said, 'structuring information into manageable chunks' well I am from the North of England, we talk like that, please excuse. Thanks, you also said you have never tried explaining keys before, I am so lucky to have you providing all this interpretation for my understanding.