2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 36251, bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 7 invisible), 1,402 guests, and 313 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Abbie Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi everyone! This is my very first post, so "HI"! smile

My question is:

I've been teaching piano for a couple years, but have only taught younger students (6-7 years old). I've been using the Music Tree curriculum and am enjoying it thus far. But, there is a boy who is 13 wanting to take lessons--and I just don't know where to start him or with what curriculum. confused He is a much older student, but knows nothing about piano. I'm afraid if I start him at beginner level Music Tree, he'll get bored. I just don't know what to do. How would you go about teaching an older child?

Can someone advise me on this subject?

Thank you so much!
Abbie

8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Welcome to the forum!

I teach a 13-year-old beginner as well, and she's using Piano Adventures with no qualms. You can always start the student with a familiar method, and then switch out when he gets bored. Just be a little more vigilant for signs of ennui.

Private Piano Teacher and MTAC Member
A
Abbie Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Thank you for your reply!

Did you start your 13 year old beginner with the primer level in Piano Adventures? What level did you start her at?

I need all the help I can get! smile

T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T