2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, 12 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 277 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
HI there-

Does anyone know what a 1982 Ibach 7ft "Richard Strauss" model that needs rebuilding would go for on the U.S. west coast at a dealership?

I have been shopping for about 6 months for a 7ft grand piano now for both practicing and recording- this past weekend I tried out the piano and I loved both the tone and touch. It fit like a glove. I tried other pianos the dealer had in the store of similar size, even more expensive, newer ones, and I kept coming back to the Ibach. I'm no tech but did notice that since all parts are original, it sounded like some things needed to be replaced, like strings, hammers, etc. Also, it had only one previous owner. I negotiated a price of $28,400 (plus tax) assuming a tech gave it his/her blessing.

A very reputable tech whom I trust examined the piano today and reported to me that in order to optimize it, it would need to be rebuilt- He reported: